We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place... but small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fibber McGees

Fibber McGees
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Sunset Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual Upscale Dining
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place... but small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overlooking the golf course, this is a nice little place in Sunset Beach. I say small because we came with 7 and there were not a lot of big tables. There were two and they were in a room next to the kitchen and bathrooms and windows with no shades at sundown. So the glare/brightness was a little overwhelming, but the food was actually pretty good.

It's an irish place so they have the typical fare. I had a prime rib sandwich and it was good. It was cold, and thats not what I was expecting, but it was still fabulous. I tried some of their chicken nuggets and they were good, the shepherd's pie was good, and the crab cake sandwich was good as well.

So would I go back? Definitely if I had 4 or fewer people or I was next door playing golf. The prices were reasonable and the food was good. The desserts sounded great too but I was too stuffed to eat anything else!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brandonhill28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    123
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived right before close and we were still served with a friendly demeanor. The food was good. We will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Spot after Golfing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've visited Fibber McGees many times, usually after a round of golf. It's a pub style bar/restaurant. The interior is cozy with TV showing sports. The kitchen has many specials often based on fresh caught seafood. The food is excellent, better than many "seafood" restaurants. The specials are also innovative with items like "seafood pot pie". I've always received friendly and prompt service. I'm amazed how they can turn out such great food from the tiny kitchen. They have many brews on tap and a full bar. Outside seating, and easy parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shivas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Couldn't find a thing wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

And that's a mouth full because I'm a real pain in the you know what when it comes to service and food quality. Everything was great and I will return anytime i'm in the area!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful service and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently visited Fibber McGrees in Sunset Beach, NC with a group of six people from all over the country. Three people had the shrimp burger and rated it excellent. One had the ahi tuna which lwas prepared well and tasted just as good. I thoroughly enjoyed my crab cake burger which was moist and very tasty. Prior to our lunch we enjoyed three appetizers which were also good. Service by Dana was very efficient and she was quite personable. The bar area was pleasant and the outside patio was spacious and well planned. The women's restroom was so clean and well maintained. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fibber McGees also viewed

 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fibber McGees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing