We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away from this place, terrible customer service!!!”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, TN
1
Reviewed July 19, 2005

This hotel has the worst customer service I have ever experienced in a hotel. I stayed for 2 nights and when I checked in the staff at the front desk acted like I was bothering them to check in. Not even a smile from this bunch! The room I was given had an air conditioner that leaked all over the floor and the next morning the toilet backed up. When I asked to change rooms another rude front desk clerk told me I had to wait 2 hours for another room due to the maids cleaning all the rooms. After waiting almost 3 hours I was finally given another room. Hotel was in general disrepair and fitness center consisted of a small weight bench and a exercise bike with missing handle bar. Indoor pool area is a joke! When I went to check out I asked for some sort of adjustment for my inconvenience, the rude front desk clerk said I had to speak to the general manager and he was not in. And this was on a Monday morning! I told the front desk clerk to have the manager call me as I was traveling and gave her my cell phone number. Of course the manager never called me. When I got home from my vacation I called Choice Hotels customer service and told them what happened. They advised me they would contact hotel and hotel would contact me by mail. Hotel just sent me letter of apology and no offer of adjustment. Won't ever stay here again when in Statesville

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 158 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2004

Recently ( October 2004) stayed 3 nights at Sleep Inn in Statesville,NC. A bit nervous because of previous review, but since all the other area hotels had "iffy" reviews thought we would go with best of bunch. Hotel was nice typical Sleep Inn style...a lot like IBIS hotels in Europe. I am VERY picky about cleanliness and we found room was very clean with new bedspred and small but immaculate all white bathroom with shower only and nice new clean white towels. Room had small fridge & microwave. We really like the casual minimalist feel of Sleep Inns and this one was typical. Like the previous review, we did find the hall carpet in need of cleaning, but room carpet was newish and clean. It looks like maybe some kids have spilled drinks on carpet and they were never cleaned up...that's all. We didn't use pool but it looked clear and clean.Breakfast was very very basic. For the price ( I think $54.00) a night for family of 3, we would certainly stay here again. Desk staff was nice...not super professional...but pleasant enough, and a nice surprise for us was that on check-out we were extended a special "stay 2 nights-get 1 free" deal and so for our 3 night stay we were only charged for 2. Unless a newer hotel opens in the area we would stay here again.

1  Thank tripstakeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2004

We stopped here because the hotel looked nice and fairly new from the outside, and has AAA approval. We usually stay at moderately priced chain motels, most of which have upgraded their amenities over the past few years. This motel is still truly an economy motel. We were assigned a non-smoking king room on the lower level, the same level as the pool, and the entire hall had a strong chlorine odor. The carpeting on one end was different from the carpeting on the other end and large areas appeared to be worn and dirty. Our room was not large, but an adequate size for an overnight stay. It had a microwave and refrigerator, but no coffee maker and no hair dryer. One of the two light fixtures over the bed did not work and needed new light bulbs. The bath area had only a shower, no tub, but we expected this in a Sleep Inn. The bedspread appeared to be clean, but had several cigarette burn holes. The breakfast was the most basic possible, with juice, coffee, cereal, bagles, toast and small muffins. The good features were that our room was clean, quiet and the bed was OK. And the Sagebrush Steakhouse next to the hotel was very good.

3  Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Notre chambre était située à l'arrière et je crois que c'est plus tranquille.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank mariereneec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Statesville hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Statesville Inn
Best Western Statesville Inn
#7 of 21 in Statesville
542 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville
1.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Statesville
Red Roof PLUS+ Statesville
#5 of 21 in Statesville
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Statesville
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Statesville
Hampton Inn Statesville
#1 of 21 in Statesville
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Statesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 1212 Tonewood Street, Statesville, NC 28677
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Statesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Price Range: $77 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Statesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing