We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bare Bones” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masters Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Masters Economy Inn
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bare Bones”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wow, talk about bare bones, no bath towels unless you ask, no complimentary shampoo or anything, you have to pay for ice, the TV's are old picture tube type and a very snowy picture, The gal at the front desk wears cutoff shorts and a tee shirt ,spend the extra 10 bucks and stay at a national chain motel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejayspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    9
    17
See reviews for
3
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Seems run down and old but the inside of rooms are pretty nice. No bugs or dirty bathrooms. Housekeeper did a good job. Tv's are a bit old they might want to upgrade pretty soon. Water pressure was good. Bed was good. Everyone is really nice! Overall if you are on a budget this place is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

So i was kinda scared about staying here after the reviews, but i tried it out cause of the price. It's old and basic, but its decent. Internet worked and for the price it works. Jennifer (think that was her name) was nice and I asked about shampoo. She didn't have any, but it turned out I had snagged some from the last place I was staying. Furniture looks old, but If you are on a budget, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Please do not stay here. Behind our mirror was a hold in wall, cardboard with a hole in it, duct tape to hold. Camera and in the next room the same with a bigger hold that a person could insert camera into. We always check our whole room , we were dead tired after a long drive otherwise were probably would of stayed somewhere better. The whole set up was red flag that there was so etching sinister going on. I filed a report with the police and the front desk clerk had the nerve to sarcastically say...well was there a camera in there. This could have been on dateline...scary

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Statesville hotels

PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'm pretty laid back, don't expect much from deeply discounted hotels, but this one is the worst I've been in. The "wash clothes" were cleaning rags I think. I took them down to the desk and that was their assessment of them. Big, black spots like mildew on rags, towels were dirty and bathroom obviously hadn't been cleaned. Bdrm floors had big "dust bunnies" (but that's too minor of a term) in area that was difficult to get to with a vacuum. Sheets were clean, that was the only thing good I could find to say. We would have left, but we were so exhausted that as long as the sheets were clean, we'd sleep, then leave as early in the morning as possible, which we did. Would never, ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Can't think of any tips to choose a good room other than find a different hotel, no matter how c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyheart49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I made the mistake of staying here for one night passing through The area.
The room is disgusting. The bathroom and towels were moldy!! The service at check-in was terrible And no one here seems to care if you mention it to them. Don't make the mistake of staying at this place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentlyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not much more can be added to what the other reviews on Trip Advisor already say. I guess it's all in your point of view but we found all the reviews to be pretty accurate. This place is definitely one of the worst we have stayed in yet, at the same time, we were not appalled by it. We used a coupon from the rest center so I guess we got what we paid for. We have a tight budget and for the most part it's either go with 'cheap' or don't travel. No kleenex tissues, no little shampoos, very thin towels and bedding but our room was clean, the mini fridge was working, the air conditioner was quiet and the beds were comfy. Not many cars outside so I guess the word is out not to stay here and I doubt we would stay again. Our view of Statesville certainly was upgraded when we had dinner at Sorrento. See our separate review on that restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Statesville hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Statesville
Red Roof PLUS+ Statesville
#2 of 21 in Statesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Statesville
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Statesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Statesville Inn
BEST WESTERN Statesville Inn
#5 of 21 in Statesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Statesville Mooresville/Lake Norman
2.4 mi away
Ramada Statesville
Ramada Statesville
#6 of 21 in Statesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masters Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masters Economy Inn

Property: Masters Economy Inn
Address: 702 Sullivan Rd, Statesville, NC 28677-3440
Location: United States > North Carolina > Statesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Statesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masters Economy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Masters Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masters Economy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing