We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Mexican food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Ranchero Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Ranchero Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

They have a large menu with a lot of choices and it's just what you'd expect a good Mexican restaurant to have. Friendly service and lots of seating.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeVarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chili Con Queso”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our favorite was the chili con queso, which they serve with a generous portion of Mexican spiced beef on top. The service is good if not overly friendly, and the rest of our meals were fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prejudarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to grab lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had lunch here, typical mexican fare. Food and service was great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank reddy2goGarner_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ususal Mexican fare.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've had real Mexican food, and I've had all of the standard fare offered to us gringos. This is pretty much middle of the road. Good, but nothing spectacular. Portions are okay, prices to match. But nothing that has caused me to get really excited about visiting there too often. Mexican restaurants are becoming like Chinese places, two on every corner, and it will take something special to make one really stand out. This is the perfect place for a family or a bunch of friends to spend some time eating a good meal, but don't expect to find that "jewel" of a place that blows you away. Not happening here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bigal0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great, semi-authentic Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

El Ranchero is one of my family's favorite places to eat in Spruce Pine. We tend to eat there on Sunday's, which is always a busy day for this restaurant. My husband is Mexican and he enjoys the food, but when I asked him if it was authentic, he said not really. He says the food is prepared different, perhaps to have more appeal to an "American" palate. The tortillas are flour and not corn, btw, which is typically the more Americanized way to serve tortillas. That being said, the food is wonderful. If you visit during a birthday, they will put a big sombrero on you and sing to you. I would say this restaurant is one of the best to eat at in the little town of Spruce Pine. The prices are not bad either.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero Restaurant also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to El Ranchero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing