We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Food, Obnoxious Front Desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of China Wok

China Wok
Ranked #20 of 39 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Bakersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food, Obnoxious Front Desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I do like the food very much from this restaurant. We take out from here about once every 2 months. Every once in a while we get someone that is OK that takes our order at the front, but it seems to get worse and worse. The last time the girl at the from was the worst I had ever experienced. She seemed mad that I didn't want the buffet, but wanted to make her take down an order. The food itself is good, we enjoy it every time we get it. On my next trip I will just address her and her manager. There is not much competition here or I would go somewhere else. Prices are good also. Very friendly community, but really need to work on this one girl.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank binjammin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
athens,greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to take the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I visit this place every time I go to spruce pine.I take my mom and dad here and they love it.The owners are always there and working hard along with the friendly staff.They always prepare a nice plate of tofu for us when we go there.They have alot of different things on the buffet and they always replenish it frequently.They have a few american items if the kids don't like chinese and healthy options for people who don't eat meat such as california roll sushi,green beans.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allgreek2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dont take the glass from the table!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

How much does half a dozen pitchers cost? Every time i have been here, the waitresses take your glass from the table to another part of the restaurant to fill it. Yuk! This cant be sanitary. They are also snotty. Foods average at best. Better when they were just a hole in the wall, with no buffet.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

the food here is okay. There aren't many similar restaurants in the area so this one seems to draw more people.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“A good Chinese Buffet for a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Walk in and you will be seated and offered a choice of drinks and select food from a menu or the extensive buffet.
While this is not the largest buffet I have been to, it is sizable for the area. The food is consistant, and the service very friendly.
You can eat all you desire, for less then $10 bucks!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank KSWilson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Wok also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to China Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing