We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“So So in Tokyo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyo Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tokyo Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 39 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So So in Tokyo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had a hankerin' for some Asian cousine and came across the Tokyo restaurant as I was exploring what Spruce Pine had to offer down town. The service was wonderful, the young ladies were very attentive, but the food was just ok. It just did not stand out. I had the General's chicken and it did not have the crispy texture or spicy flavor I had hoped for. I will go back and give a different menu item a try, olny because the service was so good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Level Contributor
135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“strange place for asian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I didn't expect to find this fare around the area, Its a nice little place, the staff doesn't speak English extreamly well. The food is ok. all in all its worth a trip in, though it wouldn't be a weekly trip for us

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Little Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The lunch I had at the Tokyo was very enjoyable, it was buffet, and everything on it was fresh and hot, We were greeted as we entered, and served quickly. It's not a large restaurant, but cosy and very friendly. It's right in the heart of lovely Spruce Pine, N.C., a beautiful Mountain Town, and after eating, we had the pleasure of shopping up one side of the street and then down the other, our hunger well satisfied by such a nice restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank binjammin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best oriental food in the Spruce Pine area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place is the best Chinese or oriental food you're going to get in the area without traveling to Boone or Asheville. This is a very remote rural area with few options available to you. That said, I rate the buffet 3 stars, and would rate it higher if the food were more original and the seating more comfortable. I rate the "order off the menu" entrees a little higher; 3.5 to 4 stars, and they will customize if you ask-- but you pay a little more for less food. On the buffet, the food is OK, and you can definitely fill up happily on things that taste good, but it's very standard "Chinese buffet" fare and is pretty much greasy/fried stuff. The service varies depending on when you hit them and who you get as a server. I admit the seating and atmosphere can be very uncomfortable, especially when it's cold outside and the building hasn't heated up, or if you have an ample behind to balance on their small, rickety chairs, but I like to do carry-out. The bathroom facilities are tiny and old, but I rarely need them. I've eaten here many times, and despite some other reviews mentioning the sanitation, though the building is dingy and old, I've never seen a problem with dirtiness around the food, and never gotten sick after eating here, as I have at other fancier places with better ratings. Another big point in their favor: they don't complain/whine to you about you getting too many of the expensive choices on the buffet like the proprietor of the other Chinese restaurant in Spruce Pine sometimes does; also, they are quite polite about getting more of something from the kitchen if a dish has run out and you ask, and the food is usually very consistent in quality unless you go near end of the buffet time on a slow day. I eat there frequently, both alone and with friends or family. I recommend that if you're frustrated with the service, do speak up, but be patient and don't yell at the staff if they have trouble understanding you; being loud doesn't help them understand more English. Try speaking slowly and/or pointing at the menu instead, or ask for someone who speaks more English.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara_G_Chapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Theres great food, at a low cost, I eat there often. There's a buffet that I crave all the time. They even have a website you can order off of. So if you don't like to talk, then go on their web page and order. See the menu/ pics and everything. The waitress's are really nice too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Restaurant also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tokyo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing