We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, short hikes to multiple waterfalls”

Linville Falls Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Spruce Pine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, short hikes to multiple waterfalls”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went while it was raining a lot. The hike was muddy but the waterfalls were great! There are multiple, short trails, mostly easy. One difficult one. The drive to the falls is also beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nehakaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    49
    13
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Linville Falls”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Falls view from the overlooks is well worth the hikes. The hike to the bottom of the gorge was very steep and difficult. The view of the falls from the gorge was beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice National Park Center”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I really appreciated being able to park right at the beginning of the trails of this park. Also, the bathrooms were not horrid (though not great) at the center. I do wish the water fountains had been working. I do not know why they were not. The ranger working at the center was extremely helpful and showed us a map and let us know about all the trails and what we might see, how many step were on each and the difficulty. She was very helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great hiking and views”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The view of the falls from each stop were great. The trails are fun but could use some maintenance. We went after a rain and it was slippery so take that into consideration. The information center was great and gave us a good tip to go see the wiseman's view when you are done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth your time to visit.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a short hike to the falls. They are very beautiful just keep in mind these are tumbling falls and not a straight drop type waterfall. It is a great break while traveling and worth the short hike to see them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linville Falls Visitor Center also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Mountains
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Linville Falls Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing