We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Still great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry County Brewing Company

Dry County Brewing Company
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Carolina
Level Contributor
328 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Still great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We met our daughter and her husband to be here. We also had our friends that never been here. The traditional pizza was great with any of the topping you add. The staff was great and let us try samples of beers on draft. We had 3 different beer and some wine with our meal. We left around 6pm before we started playing. I seen the staff was there hands a lot and the bathrooms was very clean. We have been here back in September and we should come before then!! A great place to eat local.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodchop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, NM
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best for Pizza and Brews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Probably the best pizza I have ever eaten. Thin, hand-tossed crust (just like New York!) and generous toppings, many of which are locally sourced and quite tasty. We had the traditional with bacon, carmelized onions and goat cheese (from a local creamery) and it was good enough to swoon over. Chad, the owner, does all his own brews, and they are os good variety and excellent flavor - but make sure you order quickly - when they're gone, they're gone, and another great one takes it place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randync60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best in the region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The pizza menu is imaginative and reasonably priced and they put together an outstanding pie. The dough is fresh made and twirled with a flourish. The ingredients are always fresh and not just the same old run of the mill standards with pesto and gluten free options for the crust, plus artichoke hearts, roasted peppers, and locally produced italian sausage highlight the unusual toppings.

The small batch beers brewed on the premises are potent and well developed. The place is packed every Thursday for Dry County Quizzo, the trivia contest (hosted by a local celebrity author) that is challenging and fun.

On the downside, the place has little to no atmosphere with bad lighting and funky furniture. The service is fine when things are slow, but not so fast (or accurate) when it gets busy. The owners are busy parents, so the restaurant has limited hours. However, these shortcomings are easily overshadowed by the friendliness and the quality of the food and drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dumbclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food, unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Came in with 10 others without much notice. Place was moderately busy. Had no problems getting seated, ordering drinks, and finally food, as the rest of our party arrived. I can't say enough how delicious their food is. We ordered so many different things, pizza, vegetarian pizza, calzones, salads, bread sticks. All awesome. Sauce is homemade and boldly flavored. Cheeses were of top quality, especially the goat cheese, their feta, and the blend used for their pizza topping. Pizza and calzone crust were hand-tossed, and hot and bubbly. Perfect. Amazing considering how many things we ordered. Everything was done in a green sustainable way but don't let that steer you away if that's not your thing. Portions were ample. I enjoyed their beer. Their beer has character. It's uniquely crafted and like their marinara sauce, boldly flavored. I recommend this place for those who appreciate artisan cooking. These folks know their stuff.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GYDeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC, United States
1 review
“Great Beer, Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I really liked their crust, all of the ingredients were very fresh- Definitely go for the pesto pizza, they grow their own basil.
The beer is also really good, very Belgium style, and very flavorful.

Always stop by when I am in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry County Brewing Company also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Dry County Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing