We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals we've had all year”
Review of knife & fork

knife & fork
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Seasonal, farm-driven, local food prepared in creative and loving ways. Reservations are not required but highly recommended. For parties of 6 or more, we require a credit card on file. In the event of a cancellation within 24 hours of the reservation, a $100 cancellation fee is charged. if you have an allergy or dietary restriction, please call ahead. this is the only way to ensure that we will be able to accommodate your specific needs.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've had all year”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a treat! Chef Nate, Dustin, and Emma took such great care of us, and really know food! Started with a soft cheese called oma, served with a fennel sorbet. Followed it with the roasted beets, fennel, kettlecorn, and pecorino. Third, we had green beans, fava shells, and a Spanish garrotxa cheese. Next we had crab cakes over a potato leek chowder. For dessert we had a blueberry tart with homemade berry ice cream. Only disappointment was despite so much local food, 98% of the wine list was from outside NC.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    43
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Suprise”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Knife and Fork is an amazingly good restaurant that could compete with the best of any large city. Chef Nathan Allen creatively assembles unique dishes using local ingredients and herbs where possible. Trout cheeks with fava beans--yummy; lamb loin with local vegetables--superb. The combinations are imaginative but also extraordinarily flavorful. The strangest ingredients make for world class dishes. The wine list is small but extremely good. We wandered in on a Thursday night and were so impressed we made reservations for Saturday night for the chef's samples and wine pairing prix fixe dinner.
The bar, Spoon, is located in a separate but nearby building and the cocktails are equally unusual, crafted from local ingredients-sumac syrup-- and good. This is a spacious, relax and talk bar, the perfect prelude to the culinary wonders of Knife and Fork. The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive.This combination fully deserves the old Michelin rating of "worth a destination."

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spruce Pine's Best?”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

While traveling in western North Carolina with friends, we decided to try Knife and Fork as we had heard it was a five star restaurant. I'm afraid our experience would have to dim at least two of those stars. It is in an old building which could be charming, but wasn't and the ambiance was lacking. The menu for lunch was unusual to say the least. The fried chicken was oven breaded, but was taken off of our check when we mentioned it to the management. We had to ask for grilled chicken to added to a very bland arugula salad. Crispy potatoes were overcooked and the tea had an instant tea taste. The trout sandwich was good, especially the tartar sauce. Our party was a little disappointed and decided were probably would not return. Maybe dinner is better!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This establishment surprises from the beginning! I was immediately impressed with the highly trained staff, and the evening continued on that high note. The nicely built wine list was very reasonably priced and my wife and I enjoyed a surprising grenache. All ingredients are local and fresh and chef Nathan Allen does a great job in creating varied and interesting dishes. We both started with a spring onion soup followed by the rabbit with a succulent sauce for my wife and a trout dish given a clean fresh treatment for me. I look forward to the next opportunity to dine at the Knife & Fork in Spruce Pine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Treat”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a surprise to find such delicious food in the remote town of Spruce Pine.
We had a delicious lunch--potato/leek soup, beet salad, trout sandwiches and lamb sandwiches. The four of us split 2 tasty desserts. The service was good and the price was reasonable. We hope to go back to the Knife and Fork (it is a pitch fork--for the local produce) soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msontheroad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed knife & fork also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Little Switzerland, North Carolina Mountains
 
Little Switzerland, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to knife & fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing