We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm to table at its most inventive best”
Review of knife & fork

knife & fork
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Spruce Pine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Seasonal, farm-driven, local food prepared in creative and loving ways. Reservations are not required but highly recommended. For parties of 6 or more, we require a credit card on file. In the event of a cancellation within 24 hours of the reservation, a $100 cancellation fee is charged. if you have an allergy or dietary restriction, please call ahead. this is the only way to ensure that we will be able to accommodate your specific needs.
burnsville, nc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Farm to table at its most inventive best”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nate Allen and wife Wendy Gardner have created a wonderful wining and dining opportunity. Nate creates rushes from locally delivered same dat meat and produce. Wendy matches wines from around the world, hard to get labels most offered by the glass.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travele0948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    41
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small but amazing food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The spicy kettle corn with coppa and basil was to die for. We kept imagining how we could get a bowl to take home. House made charcuterie and bratwurst tasted wonderful. Made this part of a day trip up from Asheville on the Blue Ridge Parkway with a return on the highway. This was the perfect end to a fall day in the mountains.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmokinHotRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent restaurant, everything we had tasted great from appetizer to dessert. We had the grass fed burger and grilled trout. The flavor were wonderful. We will make it our place next summer when we return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch, convenient to Blue Ridge Parkway”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The restaurant is a short side trip off the Blue Ridge Parkway but a published review and visit to the website proved too interesting to overlook. We had intermittent rain on the Parkway on the motorcycle ride and chose inside seating. Outside seating available.
The afternoon visit was pleasant, light crowd. Service was excellent. Our server knew the menu well and explained as needed.
We enjoyed a braised rabbit leg lunch special and a pulled pork sandwich. The meals were tasty and colorful. Roasted potatoes in 3 colors. Food are fresh, locally sourced and well prepared.
Delightful find less than 10 minutes off the Parkway. Well worth a return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
1 review
“Our favorite place to eat.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Since its opening Knife and Fork has been our favorite place. You run into Chef Nate at the local farmer's market. The farmers who raise the food are your dining companions. I love to hear the list of how they utilize every portion of the fresh vegetables and game that they prepare. Even the butter is enhanced. This is a unique dining experience and the place we choose to treat our special guests. Knife and Fork improves our quality of life in Spruce Pine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed knife & fork also viewed

Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Little Switzerland, North Carolina Mountains
 
Little Switzerland, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to knife & fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing