We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum has great potential”

North Carolina Transportation Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Spencer
Attraction details
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Museum has great potential”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This large museum has such great potential. They have a wonderful collection of trains as well as a small collection of cars. But many of the original buildings are not being utilized to their potential and many of the trains are not available for viewing. The exhibits are poorly marked and there is virtually no interactive displays. The several trains you can go inside are truly amazing. If they get the resources to enhance and update this museum, it could be great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank booknook9121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    90
    23
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bahama, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One word, Awesome”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This former Southern Railway yard is now a museum focusing on transportation in NC. They have lots of stuff like a reproduction of the wrights brothers plane to the train that was used in the movie "Leatherheads." Anyway, its close to the Sailsbury Amtrak station. You can get to the museum from the station by taxi. You can also see a hospital car, vintage cars and a fireless tank engine. You can ride a train through the yard in a open coach pulled by a F7-A. Make sure you bring your camera when you come to this awesome place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank william j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

we thought this would be only a train ride and a few locomotives, but its so much more.they have all forms of transportation,from planes, autos trains covered wagons.the buildings are mostly restored and well laid out. the working turntable and roundhouse are not to be missed.you can also ride on a old train.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank anita l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day out with Thomas”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Prepay for Thomas tickets. Pick up tickets at the booth. Had to wait 1/2 hours due to crowd. Great for children. When I went there were other children's activities. If you like old cars, then you will like this place. Bring you camera and be ready to spend 6 hours or more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We took my son for his 3rd birthday and he had a ball. The first few building are museum like and you can't touch anything so I thought this is going to be a short visit. Once we got to the turn around building, they could climb on the trains and really got into every thing. It was a lot of fun and we got some great photos. We didn't even do the train ride, we have one near us and we are a little burnt out on it. I wish the town of Spence had more to do, cute quiet town but nothing to eat or do while we waited for the Museum to open. We found a small playground down the street and spent some time there. It was a nice place to walk and very interesting information about transportation. We will visit again, it was a nice family day to spend together.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K10trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Transportation Museum also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing