We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop off the Blue Ridge Parkway”
Review of Alleghany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alleghany Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My son and & have been making a yearly motorcycle trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway. This year we decided on an overnight stop in Sparta. Based on the reviews found on TripAdvisor we picked the Allegheny Inn. This is a very nice hotel where you are able to park right outside your room. Each room has some chairs so you can sit outside and relax. Good internet service and very friendly people. Room was nice, beds comfortable and very clean. The owners obviously take pride in their business. Towels are also provided in the office to wipe down your bike. A little pizza and sub shop sits on the property and they also serve breakfast (cash only). I would definitely stay here again on my next trip south.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwsly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Alleghany Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed only one night, and the place seemed packed with motorcyclists who smiled warmly at us as we pulled in. The linens and pillows were clean (this is saying a lot since we are so picky, we actually packed our own pillows on this road trip, but decided we didn't need to use them at the Alleghany!) Fixtures all worked fine, although we were surprised to find out that the knob in the bathroom turned on a heater, and not a fan!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYRoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Think back to your classic 60s motor hotel - and this is it. You can tell the owners are caring people who are making an effort to keep their property up to date. They have recently added free high speed internet, refrigerators and microwaves in every room. (They need to upgrade the beds and add better pillows to complete the upgrade).

The price is reasonable for the rooms and I don't think you can do better in Sparta. It is a clean safe choice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GoWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Stayed at the Alleghany Inn on Memorial Day weekend with a Honda Touring Group. Very clean reasonably priced rooms. Very freindly staff. They have rag bags for anybody on a motorcycle. The guest laundry an extra bonus for us as some of our stuff was wet from riding in rain. All in all one of the better places we have stayed while riding the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bear, Delaware
13
Reviewed January 19, 2003

Room was clean, bed comfortable. Not fancy, but perfectly acceptable. Stayed 2 nights sharing the room with my parents, who were there for a family reunion.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lady Lake, Florida
18
Reviewed January 15, 2003

The staff was very friendly and the Inn was very clean. Even the corners of the baseboards in the rooms were clean and free of any dirt. That impresses me when I see this in a motel or hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank macsli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
531 reviews
19.3 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
241 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
23.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
15.3 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleghany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleghany Inn

Address: 341 N Main St, Sparta, NC 28675-8896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range: $94 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleghany Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hair Dryers, Microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Free use of the Alleghany Wellness Center indoor swimming pool and work out facility. Multiple restaurants located within a mile. Guest laundry. High speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Alleghany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alleghany Hotel Sparta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing