We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very clean and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alleghany Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alleghany Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We were riding the Blue Ridge parkway.
This place is great for motorcyclists, clean and friendly and reasonably priced.
They have ample parking and even provide cleaning towels for drying off your motorcycle.
Very quiet place to stay and family friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing. As a hotel that claims to be military veteran friendly. I was offered a very small discount. To get a bed to sleep on would have cost 2 days of active duty hazard pay. Another disappointing hotel that claims to help out veterans but won't take even $70.00 for a bed. Once again how people would use the yellow ribbons to hide their greed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank db9guard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlleghanyInn, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
First of all thank you for your service! My son is currently deployed somewhere in the Middle East with the USMC, we appreciate all of our Service Men and Women.

The Alleghany Inn offers a 20% discount to all active duty and retired military with no blackout dates. If you did not receive this amount I apologize, please contact me immediately and I will refund the difference and take an additional 20% off for your inconvenience.

Thank You,
John K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway and needed a good place to stay for one night. Read the reviews on this place, and gave it a try. Reviews are accurate. It is an older (1950's?) two story motel in the center of town. The staff is over the top friendly and accommodating, very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We stayed in one of the rooms in their "Conference Center". I would have preferred one of the "Motel" rooms, as ours did not have a balcony. However, it was a large room, spotless, comfortable and did have a coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24-7 in the lobby. However, ladies, bring your hairdryers, as they don't have them in the rooms. Great place to stay, don't hesitate to make a reservation. And eat breakfast at the pizza joint next door, great food for cheap prices. Also try the River Rock Grille for dinner.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony or outdoor patio, ask for the motel rooms, not the conference center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle56Chipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlleghanyInn, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! In early June we completed the installation of hair dryers in every room so no need to bring one along anymore.

John K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were visiting family who had recently purchased land in the Sparta area and were camping on their land. As we are not campers we looked for something close by. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel in the future. There is also a nice little restaurant next door which served very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mje711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I stay here frequently with family nearby. The hotel is always clean and very affordable. The accommodations are somewhat behind, but all working and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to sleep, I recommend this establishment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were traveling on the Blue Ridge parkway and stayed here one night. It was very clean for being an older place. The staff were friendly. The room was cozy. The only complaint I have is the pillows were kinda flat. My husband didn't like that the room didn't have a coffee maker. But there was coffee, tea, etc in the office. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here on our 2nd night of a 9 day/9 state road trip, because it was right at the foot of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Very convenient for us after traveling all day. Reading reviews on here, and knowing there were no elevators, we asked for, and got, a bottom floor room. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Front desk staff was great. The little restaurant on property is convenient, too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
19.3 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
15.3 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
22.0 mi away
Nation's Inn
Nation's Inn
#3 of 4 in West Jefferson
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleghany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleghany Inn

Property: Alleghany Inn
Address: 341 N Main St, Sparta, NC 28675-8896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleghany Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Free use of the Alleghany Wellness Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Alleghany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alleghany Hotel Sparta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing