We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect soul restoration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Sparta B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I have been running wide open for weeks. Our life is very full and we needed to "run away" to recharge our batteries. Our daughter and her new husband had discovered Harmony Hill last fall. They wanted us to check it out. Wow, what an awesome experience. Barbara and Jim Halsey are incredible. They have taken Jim's grandmother's old home, moved it to a perfect spot on the hill, and then transformed it into a magnificent bed and breakfast. They are the perfect hosts, greeting you immediately and making you comfortable. The views are unbelievable. Not sure which is more memorable, the hospitality, the vision and restoration of the house, the grounds, and gardens, or the breakfast. Ok, who am I kidding. I am a foodie and the pecan pancakes with butter pecan ice cream or the strawberry crapes with chantily cream were to die for. We are converts from other more crowded mountain areas. Harmony Hill is our new go to place when we need to escape the Sandhills! Thanks Barbara and Jim, see you again soon!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, Owner at Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Jim and Peggy,
Please forgive me for being so late responding. I have attempted to do this several times, and we always got interrupted. We appreciate your kind words so much, and we hope you really mean you plan to visit us again. We are also sending thoughts and prayers your way. I hope the treatments are going well and doing their job. Hope to see you both soon.

Barbara and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Harmony Hill was a last minute overnight getaway for my husband's birthday. We could not have picked a more beautiful and relaxing environment for a quick getaway. The innkeepers are welcoming and genuine, and immediately we felt "right at home." We were settled in our room, and invited to enjoy a glass of lemonade and and explore the grounds. We came downstairs to find a cheese and fruit tray as well, and meandered outside to the gazebo. The landscaping is incredible, and includes several shaded paths and plenty of seating. There is so much privacy that we didn't even realize there was another couple outside! We enjoyed watching the baby bunnies play, and the spectacular show the fireflies put on just for us. :) Eventually, we went into Sparta for dinner and later enjoyed the Crouse House pickers at the park. (FYI: Farmers Hardware store on Main Street is also a neat place to shop if you get the chance.) We finally retired for the night to the Peach Bottom room, decorated beautifully in cool and relaxing colors that were welcome after a warm summer day. The house is a perfect composition of old and new, with elegant antiques and modern conveniences blending flawlessly. My husband and I were asleep within minutes, as a result of silky soft and comfortable bedding over a feather tick mattress. (I do wish we had left the blinds open to enjoy the sunrise because the view was breathtaking!) Breakfast was hearty and divine, with fluffy pancakes topped with butter pecan ice cream and warm maple syrup, accompanied by fresh peaches and sliced fruit. We were fortunate in that our meal was enhanced by being able to enjoy the company of a wonderful, sweet couple who were also visiting the inn. If you ever get the opportunity to visit this part of North Carolina, plase do not pass up an opportunity to stay at this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reece2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, Owner at Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Joanie and Eric,
Jim and I appreciate the kind words you have written for us on Tripadvisor. I have been meaning to write for days; however, I have been a bit busy. You mentioned so many kind things about our quaint, little town of Sparta. I will share those at the next Chamber meeting. Please know how much we also appreciated the tip you gave us on the Bed and Breakfast in VA. We plan to go when our season ends. Make plans to visit us soon. Hope the rain is staying away from you all. We have plenty to share.

Barbara and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our visit to Harmony Hill was one of the highlights of our trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The setting is beautiful and relaxing--the perfect antidote for a day of driving and hiking. The hosts are friendly and made us feel right at home. Sitting out on their huge front yard with a plate of cheese and crackers and a glass of wine, looking at the tranquil scene in front of us, truly topped off our day. And the breakfast the next morning was a treat with local recipes--and plenty of good food and conversation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, Owner at Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Mona and Larry,
Please know how much Jim and I appreciated the kind words you wrote for us on Tripadvisor. We hope that you understand why it has taken us so long to respond. We so enjoyed your visit and hope that you will find your way to the East coast again. We have more people coming from California at the end of August. Let's hope they are as nice as you both were.

Barbara and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Harmony Hill as part of a motorcycle trip with friends while riding from Connecticut to Asheville, NC. We could not have been more pleased with our one night stay.

Barbara and Jim have created a special place for visitors to their B&B and are only too happy to share it with you. The Victorian era home that is Harmony Hill was relocated to it's hilltop location and thoughtfully renovated and restored with lots of attention from the owners. If you have a chance, ask Barbara to share the story of the house's relocation and renovation with you.

There are wonderful common areas of the house for guests to enjoy both indoors and outdoors. The porch and gazebo areas are favorites. While the rooms are wonderful, you will not feel confined to them as guests.

On our motorcycle trip, we like parking the bikes for the day by late afternoon and not having to go out again.We usually look for an in-town lodging location. The night of our stay at Harmony Hill, we bought a picnic dinner with us to eat outside. Barbara was fine with us doing this.

Our room was the Virginia Highlands room....thoughtfully appointed and quite comfortable. the housekeeping is done at a high standard and our room was immaculate.

Breakfast the next morning was another highlight. Thin pancakes with pecans and topped with a scoop of Butter Pecan ice cream...what a way to start another day on vacation!

Barbara has a very strong vision about how guests should be welcomed and treated; and the kind of experience she wants to create for guests in how the inn is run. We were the beneficiaries of all of that effort. Our only regret was that our planned stay wasn't longer. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedalmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, Owner at Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Mike,
I want you and your lovely wife to know how much we enjoyed the two of you as well as Sandy and Scott. We loved the review you so kindly did for us. Jim and I work really hard to make our guests have a great experience at Harmony Hill. I loved the fact that you all took advantage of it and had dinner on the porch. Please ride those motorcycles down our way again.

Barbara and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a beautiful property, with charming rooms, fantastic gardens, and lovely hosts. Harmony Hill lives up to its name by cultivating an atmosphere of peace ands calm. I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the gardens and grounds and simply relax. This place could be featured in a magazine. It's very special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoscoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Barbara made us welcome from the moment we arrived. We were only able to stay for an evening but it was lovely. We started out with wine and cheese on the breezy front porch and Barbara gave us suggestions for dinner. We went to a low key restaurant where local musicians were playing and felt totally at home. After our delightful meal, we went back to Harmony Hill and enjoyed the fireflies and moonlit night. Morning brought us relaxation on the front porch again and a fabulous breakfast by Barbara. She gave me directions to a potter's studio down the road and I spent a great hour talking to the potters, admiring their work and, of course, buying a piece. It was sad to leave such a lovely place!

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely but Peach Bottoms looked the best. We stayed in the only room that didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, Owner at Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Kathy and Dan,
Please know how much we appreciate the kind words you put on Tripadvisor for us. We loved having you both, and we hope your next visit can be just as relaxing. I also hope you are enjoying your Mangum pottery. I have kept this busy this summer. Give Dan our love, and thanks again.

Barbara and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thank you to Harmony Hill for this stay. This was for us the best place we visited in the US. We felt immediately relaxed and charmed by this wonderful house, and we felt in Love with this part of North Carolina. Thank you to the owners for the familial athmosphere and great care.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, Owner at Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Julien and Valentina,

Jim and I are so appreciative of the kind words you wrote on Tripadvisor for us. We loved having you both and were thrilled you chose to stay another night with us. The Mangum's are also appreciative of the kindness you showed to Donna's horse. I hope you both had a great trip and you are enjoying your beautiful pottery. Please, please plan a trip to North Carolina and Harmony Hill again.

Barbara and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1740 Halsey Knob Rd, Sparta, NC 28675-8777
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range: $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast provides the perfect Sparta NC lodging experience. The main house has seven bedrooms, five of which are open to our guests. The Carriage House is separate from the main house and has its own private entrance. Each bedroom is air-conditioned with its own private bath, and four of the six bedrooms feature fireplaces with gas logs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing