We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Is Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Sparta B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This Place Is Just Perfect”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This historic home has been superbly restored, expanded, and decorated by the warm and gracious innkeeper. She and her husband made us feel like we were personal guests in a very special house. The house is suffused with color and light. The carriage house suite, which we occupied, was decorated in gorgeous shades of yellow, rose, sage, and blue. It was spacious and luxurious. The other rooms, all of which we saw, were decorated in perfect hues and appointed with every comfort. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully served. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and there are open vistas all around, with mountains in the distance in all directions. You are about 7 miles from Sparta which has restaurants and music. You want to have this experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H, Owner at Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We so appreciate the kind words and are inspired to keep working hard to please. Jim and I loved having you both and will always think of you when we visit the "Bluebird Cafe." Please plan another music trip our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
68
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I ended a long weekend staying at Harmony Hill. From the moment we arrived and Barbara greeted us.. we felt welcomed! As soon as we went into their beautiful home we loved it. First thing we smelt was blackberry cobbler...which was fantastic. Barbara introduces us to Bella Boo and we feel immediately in love with her!!! We spend a hour or more getting to visit with Jim and Barbara which was lovely. They gave us so much great information about the area. Then Bella followed us up to our room(blue ridge room) and we got to play with her for awhile and then she settled right in and slept. We enjoyed it soooo much!
Thanks Barbara and Jim for making it such a great stay...Please tell Bella Boo and Macie hi for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter and I traveled to Sparta earlier this month for a volleyball tournament held at the local HS. Instead of staying at one of the local motels, we chose Harmony Hill and were extremely pleased. While it is a little more expensive that local hotels, you truly get what you pay for. Amazing hospitality, a beautiful home, finely decorated - yet very comfortable. Barbara and Jim made us feel right at home and I would highly recommend this location for guests in the Sparta, NC area

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I travelled with friends to Laurel Springs/Sparta area to pick up winemaking supplies and chose to spend the night at the beautiful home of Barbara and Jim Halsey. What a great decision! Although it is the epitome of elegance, we were comfortably at home there and our hosts couldn't have been more gracious. A long soak in the jacuzzi tub ended my day of wine tasting and dinner in town, but we were surprised after dinner by our hosts with a delicious homemade blackberry cobbler ala mode! A fabulous breakfast awaited us in the morning and coffee was available for our early bird who enjoyed reading in the cozy library, complete with fireplace. Everything you could possibly want in a B&B stay is here. We are returning in October to enjoy the amazing outdoor spaces of this retreat. A big snow and cold temps kept us inside this trip. We look forward to live music on the deck and lots of porch sitting. I will take in the sunrise from the porch or the Adirondack chairs perfectly sited to enjoy the view!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimsgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay in the Peach Bottom Room at the Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast. Beautifully decorated, comfortable, and simply elegant in details, the suite was a haven for the weary holiday traveler. Waking to a tranquil sunrise over peaceful views of the surrounding mountains was a warm and relaxing sojourn during a busy time of year. An overnight stop on our journey down the Blue Ridge Parkway in late November 2011, we were thrilled with the comfort of the home, the hospitality of our gracious hosts Barbara and Jim, and the quality of the food and conversation. We highly recommend a stay in this beautiful Bed & Breakfast, no matter the season or the reason.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and well appointed - Peach Bottom was delightful and perfect for our needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredaNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were really pleased with the room (Virginia Highlands) and the yummy breakfasts. It was the quietest place I have ever stayed! There were 3 couples when we were there, but we never heard anyone else. Other than at breakfast, or hanging out in the common areas, we would have thought we were alone. The owners were really friendly and helpful, and had a lot of good information about the area. Beautiful setting - a real treat!

Room Tip: We liked the walk-in shower in the Virginia Highlands room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProcFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Harmony Hill for two nights in October 2012. The hosts, Barbara and Jim are incredibly nice people. We felt like being part of the family. The house and its rooms are great. One can see and feel that every detail is perfect and fits into the design concept and it is a very cosy and warm atmosphere everywhere in the house, that by the way has its own very special history. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed the best pancakes we ever had! Harmony Hill is the place to stay if you are travelling in North Carolina or on the Blueridge Parkway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time4coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
5.7 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
87 reviews
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
230 reviews
18.5 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
66 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Cabins at Healing Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1740 Halsey Knob Rd, Sparta, NC 28675-8777
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast provides the perfect Sparta NC lodging experience. The main house has seven bedrooms, five of which are open to our guests. The Carriage House is separate from the main house and has its own private entrance. Each bedroom is air-conditioned with its own private bath, and four of the six bedrooms feature fireplaces with gas logs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing