We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Sparta B&B and Inns
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Heaven on earth :)”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I traveled with a friend along the Blue Ridge Parkway last july and read about this bed and breakfast in a magazine. we didnt book in advance so we decided to pass by and check if there are availabilities. lucky us Barbara and Jim had a room for us which is seldom because their house is usually fully booked. but they had a wedding the weekend before so everybody just left. if one is ever nearby Sparta..... and you have the chance to stay there ... PLEASE DO IT! its heaven on earth. i am actually lacking words which could describe the place for what it is... an amazing, relaxing and joyful place with hosts who were like parents to us :) all rooms they offer are individually designed, which makes it difficult to decide which to take if you have the choice because they are all soooooo beautiful. Barbara prepared a cheese platter for us and served a delicious bottle of white wine with it and the relaxing part of our stay could begin. to sit on the patio, relax with this stunning view right in front of us... ahhh i wish i could be there again right now! during summer times you can even watch fireflys when the sun gets down :))))) their lovely little dog Bella joined us and loves guests too !
Barbara aksed us what we would like to have for breakfast and i left the decision with her. wise decision :))) ... she prepared Jims favorite ... i dont want to tell you what it is... just stay there and figure it out yourself!!!!
so whenever you need a place to stay in Sparta, even if its only for one night as it was in our case.... if you need a place where you can find yourself.... if you need a place where you can listen to the nature and cant hear any other noise.... if you need a place because you are burned out... THATS THE PLACE TO GO!!!! enjoy the company of Barbara, Jim and Bella and send them my regards :)

Winnie

Room Tip: Whatever room you take its the right one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
65
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed three nights at the beautiful and peaceful Harmony Hill while in the area for a wedding. Our room was very comfortable and spacious and we slept quite well each night. The hospitality is unsurpassed in our opinion, with information provided on local sights and events, delicious and plentiful breakfasts, and personal attention to specific needs (ie, laundry). Barbara and Jim are the consummate hosts and we hope to have a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dove49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I just spent three nights at Harmony Hill and couldn't have been happier with the experience. The house is beautiful and immaculate. The grounds are expansive and well tended. Barbara and Jim, the hosts, went to great lengths to make sure we were well cared for. The breakfasts were great. If all B&Bs were like this it would wipe out the hotel industry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

First class accommodations in service, meals, setting, comfort. We were passing through on our weeklong motorcycle trip down the Skyline Dr., Blue Ridge Parkway, and Smokey Mtns. when we stopped for an overnight stay. We booked the Carriage House suite from the website, and it was exactly as pictured. We had a bonus greeting from BellaBoo (resident yorkie) upon arrival. We were immediately made to feel right at home by Barbara and Jim. We were able to relax and de-stress from our rainy ride, and it was our most comfortable sleep of the whole trip. We met several very friendly guests and wish we had more time to spend a second night. If you are looking for a close-to-perfect B&B experience, go stay at the Harmony Hill B&B. You will not be disappointed!!!! We weren't! We definitely will go back if in the area!!!!! Barbara's breakfast is worth it all........nutty pancakes with ice cream, yummy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This lovely B&B is set on top of a knoll in the beautiful rolling countryside of Alleghany County. When you first see it as you top the hill on the rural road you get the feeling that you are about to visit some good friends who happen to live in a house featured in Southern Living Magazine. And, that will not be far from the truth. Look back as you wind up the driveway for a fine view of the fields and mountains all the way to the horizon.
The photo on their Web site does not do justice to the landscaping. The large white house with detached three-car garage is the center of a park-like setting that my wife referred to as "mini-Biltmore." Jim and Babara moved his grandparents home up the hill from its original site in the valley and set to work turning it into a real show place. They are still at it - putting in new mulch and edging the nearby woodland with new plantings while we were there. Sitting on the wrap-around porch you can enjoy that view, and inside, you can sit at the long dining table bordered by a high-ceiling foyer and a semi-circular room featuring a piano, while you eat Barbara's delicious breakfasts. We had fresh fruit every morning accompanied by such goodies as crepe-like pancakes with fresh strawberry filling and Chantilly whipped cream, oven baked cheese omelet on top of salsa, fresh biscuits and rich creamy grits.
We booked the "cottage" which is actually the second floor over the wide garage. It is very spacious with a separate kitchen, a dining and living room, a large bedroom and a large bath. You could easily do your own meals there, by why give up Barbara"s fantastic breakfasts? The stairs to the cottage need some care, but Barbara told us that is one of their next projects, including expanding the small porch on the rear of the cottage into a deck.
This B&B a real get-away-from-it-all place. The nearby town of Sparta has a number of adequate restaurants, but, if you want fancy restaurants to go to or city life you might want to stay some where else. However, for peace and beauty, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

For those that want to enjoy a bed and breakfast at it's finest, look no further. We have stayed in many, many bed and breakfasts over the years. We rate this one as one of the best for the following reasons: the house and property are magnificent, the hosts are warm and kind, and the food was amazing! It was a wonderful memory for our anniversary. We only wished we lived closer! There's a sign on the door "enter as guests, leave as friends" and that's exactly how we felt when we left. We loved The Carriage House and wish we could take it home with us! We could live there! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and every one of them were beautiful. We loved the carriage house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We just got back from a stay at Harmony Hill and it simply couldn't have been more perfect! Everything from beginning to end was superb! Our suite was exactly as described. The food was outstanding. Barbara and Jim were excellent hosts and the home was exquisite! My only regret is that we only stayed on night!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House Suite and it was perfectly private. We were apart from the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
5.7 mi away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
15.2 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
15.5 mi away
High Meadows Inn
High Meadows Inn
#1 of 1 in Roaring Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Doctor's Inn
The Doctor's Inn
#1 of 3 in Galax
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1740 Halsey Knob Rd, Sparta, NC 28675-8777
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast provides the perfect Sparta NC lodging experience. The main house has seven bedrooms, five of which are open to our guests. The Carriage House is separate from the main house and has its own private entrance. Each bedroom is air-conditioned with its own private bath, and four of the six bedrooms feature fireplaces with gas logs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing