We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be nicer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Sparta B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This lovely Victorian house is totally renovated and sited on a hill with beautiful views all around. The landscaping and gardens are lovely, clearly done with weddings in mind! The interiors are straight out of House Beautiful with attention paid to every detail one could want in a top-of-the-line bed and breakfast. My husband and I stayed in the carriage house -- a large, private space over the garage. It has a full kitchen, bedroom, and living/dining room with stunning views. I could have stayed for days.... unfortunately, we were on our way down the Blue Ridge Parkway and had only one night to spare. One caution: don't expect to find any fine dining in Sparta, or much else for that matter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elle-e-belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 116 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Barbara and Jim made us feel like members of their family. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the food surpasses my grandmother's - my ultimate compliment. The house is perched on a hilltop, providing breath-taking views. I have already been recommending it to our friends as a perfect get-away destination.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend a night in the beautiful, peaceful Carriage House. Our evening was spent in front of the fire, with a bottle of wine and a delicious cheese/cracker/snack tray that Barbara so graciously prepared for us. We woke up to the sun rising up over the mountains, with the full moon still visible off the back porch. What a gorgeous sight. And our weekend treat was not over - we were then given a most scrumptious breakfast of pumpkin pancakes with lots of extras! Jim and Barbara's slogan of "come as a guest, leave as a friend" is definitely not just a saying. I truly feel that we met "friends" while we visited, and we will absolutely be back to spend another night (or hopefully two!!) in their company. Thanks, Barbara and Jim, for such a wonderful evening and morning spent in your home.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic evening, the Carriage House is what you want!! Although, we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrenHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The search for authenticity is elusive for most Americans; we rush around collecting experiences and promptly file them away in our computer folders. Not so for Debbie and me on this trip to Jim and Barbara's home in the mountains of North Carolina.

On the day of our arrival, our motorcycle tire suffered tread separation (not a good thing). The AAA tow-truck driver loaded us up and took us down winding mountain roads in the dark. Imagine our delight when, just over the next rise, wonderful lights welcomed us to Harmony Hill. As I helped unload the wounded Honda, Debbie went inside and and met Jim and Barbara, who took us under their wings. We felt like family. Barbara went completely out of her way to help us see the local area while our motorcycle underwent repairs that Jim arranged for me (calling local mechanics).

The accomadations were much more than just that; they were perfect. We were not just catered-to; we were cared-for. And that is something money cannot buy.

I highly recommend Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast. We will be back.

Tom and Debbie

Room Tip: All are great; Peach Bottom is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomkinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

On a motorcycle. On a jaunt: but do some planning. The World Wide Interweb reports a B & B near Sparta: I got a reservation online. Next day: I pull into the loop driveway, shut it down, and start pulling off stuff: helmet and gear and gloves -- and out the front door pops this blond lady, yelling "Frank, welcome!" What the? Turns out it's Barbara, she runs the joint with hired-help-husband Jim (wonderful man, he's not really the hired help, he just acts that way to please Barbara, its looks like it to me). I was startled, because I'm not used to having my name yelled out when they've never met me, yet. Anyway, welcome to the world of some folks who genuinely love the B & B they've made. Gorgeous country setting, spotless inside and out. Until lately they've not advertised at all, relying on reputation and repeat folks from Charlotte and Winston-Salem. I learned all this just being quiet and letting Barbara and Jim talk to me. And what fabulous talkers! Its the benefit of traveling alone: everybody wants to help you out. Breakfast (my day: pecan pancakes with a scoop of butter-pecan ice cream on top, fresh peaches on the side; fresh fruit; fresh orange juice; scratch-made country ham biscuits; killer coffee) made me want to go home and slap my mama, as a fellow used to say. If you don't understand that joke, ask a southerner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MovingMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our stay for one night was great. The room and bathroom were larger than expected (and larger than the picture makes it seem). Everything was amazingly clean and neat. The breakfast was delicious. Grounds were very pretty. House was beautiful! The bed was extremely comforable. The house was very quiet overnight even with all the rooms being full. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Any of them would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1740 Halsey Knob Rd, Sparta, NC 28675-8777
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range: $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast provides the perfect Sparta NC lodging experience. The main house has seven bedrooms, five of which are open to our guests. The Carriage House is separate from the main house and has its own private entrance. Each bedroom is air-conditioned with its own private bath, and four of the six bedrooms feature fireplaces with gas logs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harmony Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing