We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely inn”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

quaint and cozy inn. had a wonderful stay. there was a slight mix-up with our reservation and Dottie handled the situation with such grace and southern hospitality. what could've been a problem at many of the boutique and upscale hotels in which we've stayed was made to be a truly positive beginning to our weekend. the room was cute and very well appointed with a refridgerator and microwave. the river view from the porch was relaxing. highly recommend Lois Jane's for a nice quiet stay at a comfortable inn in an adorable location. and we were especially taken by the warm and friendly hospitality.

Room Tip: river view rooms 5,6 and 7 are quietest. 7 is a corner room (extra windows). make reservations for M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byron n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    31
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
109
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have been visiting Southport since I was....well rephrase for about 40 years. I am delighted it keeps the charm of a coastal town but is seeing contnued positive growth. Regarding the Inn's I do think on Trip Advisor it is hard to realize there is the Bed and Breakfast, and thre is a Motel across the street. These are VERY differnt. We have stayed in both and like each for what they offer. This time we stayed in the Motel so I will comment on it. We were in rooms #7 and #8 as when we made our reservation a two night stay was not available. One is on the street, we never heard any noise. In approp months one plus of it is it has cross windows for a great breeze. The rooms are very clean and newly painted. Fair pricing. The other room we moved to is nicer in the fact it offers a water view, and has the SEMI private porch with swing. We enjoyed it.
Few things just to know for your expectaions, and things we think they can work on to make a even better stay:
There are no drain plugs in either room in the bathroom sinks. As the only mirror is in the bathroom (suggest putting one in the room so two people can expedite getting ready) so ladies putting on jewelry over the sink.....that is scary. I put a towel in there to collect anything I might drop. I'm in my 40's but it happens.
Smoking on the porches. When you are that close, if the people to your left and right are smoking, and you do not like that, it will affect your enjoyment of time spent watching the boats on the intercoastal.
Bed in the room near the intercoastal, (these are FULLS not Queens) needs to be replaced. Or something fixed. How about a room with a king? Or a queen? Do people really prefer two fulls over that? Maybe.
Breakfast- the breafast's in the Inn have been really nice over the years. Give the opportunity for people to eat there when space permits.

Southport is growing, some new bars, some new coffee shops. It still shuts down early but that is what helped us to shut down too. Yes you will get seagull droppings on your car, I agree, it will be bonbed, go through the car wash on your way out of town from the beach. Also agree the one room on the intercoastal has limted view, and is very noisy from the kitchen and HVAC units from the restuarant adjacent.

Will we be back to both the Motel, yes of course. But we are more open to the old motel at the beach way of life too. It's not for everyone, and then this Motel will not be for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakegirl135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wake forest nc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I booked a street side room, so no view, for a wedding at the Community center which is 1 block away so the location was perfect. As noted above, it is rather noisy with the restaurant traffic parking basically at your head. But the seagulls are part of the charm of being near the water...The room was freshly painted and clean. The room deodorizer goes off every few minutes making a fair amount of noise; hopefully no one tall is standing right near it when it does go off. Could not get the remote to work and could not find anyone at the motel;you do need to go across the street to the Bed and Breakfast. When I found staff they were very helpfull. No conditioner, so bring your own. No iron & board in the room;the iron that I got rubbed brown residue on my brand new top. But you can easily walk to the community center, restaurants and town....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. It was wonderful! The staff was was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious! They also have wine, cheese and crackers at 5pm. The location was perfect! Walking distance to the shops and restaurants downtown and the park and pier across the street. The house, rooms, and bathrooms were beautiful and clean. We didn't know what to expect from a bed and breakfast but it was a great experience and if ever back in Southport I would stay there again, and recommend it to friends and family. Thanks to everyone at Lois Jane's for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Every room is great! We liked the back room the best because it was more private and right next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited this inn over the Memorial Day weekend, staying for three nights.
We found the inn to be a charming place to visit. We were welcomed by the Gladys and shown to our room. The inn is right across the street from the intercostal waterway, so the sound and smell of the nearby water is very calming. Many tourists walk around town or sit on the great swings overlooking the water.
We met three other couples in the afternoon during the wine and cheese tasting.
Breakfast was a feast of freshly prepared eggs, biscuits, bacon, quiche, frittata, and fruit tortes. The currant French toast and asparagus/sausage frittata were amazing. Thank you Dottie and Clair.
We even sat upstairs on the porch eating fresh shrimp one night when we were the last remaining guests. Miss meezy was wonderful and made us feel right at home.
I would not hesitate to recommend is lovely inn or a visit to Southport.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lperonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Husband and I have stayed at Lois Jane's numerous times - from the late 1990s 'til present. Always stay in Miss Mary's Room (the one with the door to the porch) -- one time stayed in the upstairs apartment in the back (July 4th Weekend) had son with us. The breakfast each morning is scrumptious - various restaurants shops and attractions are all within walking distance. Love the Yacht Basin Provision Co. Restaurant. We need another visit - soon!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archer Lodge, NC
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife found this motel 10 or 12 years ago & now we have booked a spring & fall trip every year since. You can walk to nearly every place in town to eat or shop or just get some great fresh air. The rooms are clean & it's all the space we need as we aren't in the room except to sleep. The employees are the best & make you feel right at home. Of all the places we have eaten we have never had an unsatisfactory meal anywhere. Very nice shops & the people that work in them. GREAT ESCAPE!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budvar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meezie C, Owner at Lois Jane's Riverview Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
We are so happy to have you visit every spring and fall and that you find our motel so enjoyable. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
525 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lois Jane's Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lois Jane's Riverview Inn

Property: Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Address: 106 W Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn, in the heart of Southport, NC, has the comfort, convenience and historic charm of a beautifully restored 19th century home. With views of the Cape Fear River, cozy rooms filled with period furniture and the wafting scents of a hearty, full southern breakfast, guests will feel as if they have come home. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing