We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Southport!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Location in Southport!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Lois Jane's Riverview Inn is a perfect place to stay in the cute little town of Southport! I recommend it over any other location in town. Location is great - walk to main street or down to the dock's in just a few short minutes. Great views while sitting on the front porch. Breakfast was great both mornings - fruit, eggs, meat, wonderful pastries, and great coffee. We stayed in the detached apartment which was a nice location. The inside could use an update- but it was nice to have the private balcony and lot's of space. Wine was wonderful at 5 also.

I highly recommend the Inn for anybody planning on traveling to Southport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevellingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    30
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
105
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

A colleague & I ventured to Southport to look at real estate. The Inn was full, so we had to book into Davey cottage. We arrived just in time for a mtg with the realtors, so we dropped our bags and jaws as we walked inside the cottage via the main entrance at the back, spiders dangling and the back deck looking very much in need of a broom. Inside, it was a gruesome scene. There were stuffed deer and other wildlife gaping at us--hardly a restive, seaside cottage decor but a dark hunting lodge. We counted more than 10 trophies. Our skin crawled, but there was no vacancy and no place to go, and no refund if we had left. The cottage is better on the front side, but the adjacent properties are in dire condition. The bathrooms and downstair's and kitchen were more like a mountain cabin's from the 1960s. Upstairs was better. However...the plumbing was dicey, and the lights dimmed. The ac upstairs takes a good long while to cool things down, but never shuts off, so there is constant whirring. Flush the toilet downstairs and there is no water pressure in the tiny (shared) powder room upstairs. Be very cautious unless you really enjoy spending your time contemplating how all those poor animals met their death. However, the innkeeper was kind and apologetic. She was so good to us, we wanted to apologize for complaining--but she was unable to get us any sort of refund. She is special and we felt she understood our issues. Unnerving place to stay at best.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank inklyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meezie C, Owner at Lois Jane's Riverview Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Davey’s Cottage is a personal residence utilized by our family that we began offering as overflow or for larger groups. In your instance, we were able to offer you a place to stay when there was no other. We are thankful that you were able to stay in Southport as you had hoped, but it is unfortunate that you did not find your, accommodations to your liking. The wild game decorating the walls reflects the family’s passion for the outdoors and is clearly described and photographed online. This truly is a way of life enjoyed by so many in southeastern North Carolina and those particular trophies were acquired from travels as far as Africa, so they are near and dear to our hearts. It is understandable however, that it may not suit your taste and that you may be turned off. Had you decided not to stay, you certainly would have been given a refund.

We feel certain that you must have enjoyed both the location and the tremendous views of the Cape Fear River from the bedrooms that you utilized upstairs. The home would have been properly cooled off for you had we anticipated your arrival. Because Davey’s Cottage is a historic home, it is in need of some updates, including having a good look at the water pressure. We hope to have a resolution to this issue very shortly.

The main entrance is through the front door on West Bay Street and parking is available directly in front of the home. The rear entrance sits beneath a huge Magnolia tree, possibly the largest in the state. But as magnificent as this tree is, it sheds lots of leaves on windy days. It is best to plan ahead and call our Inn Keeper to ensure that you stay in a room fitting of your preferences and lifestyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I have stayed here a few times now and have absolutely fallen in love with Lois Jane's!! The rooms are wonderful, Southern breakfast phenomenal, and a waterfront view I wish I has every night. The innkeepers couldn't be sweeter and more accommodating if they tried. All of this and a wonderful value! We will be back, hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwhite210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at riverfront motel that is also owned by the Inn .It is across the street and
even though the B&B is nice you cannot beat the view from the waterfront rooms at the motel ! The rooms are nicely decorated ,clean and the porch swing out back with a front view of the water is wonderful! Once we parked our car we did not have to move it until time to leave.There is shopping ,restaurants and beautiful historic homes within walking distance.
We are planning our next visit soon and recommend this to anyone who likes vintage
mom and pop motels .

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtwnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My family took 2 rooms at Riverside Inn Motel and we stayed for 3 days. The rooms were very basic, but decorated very nicely. The hosts were very friendly and the cleaning help knew exactly what we needed every day. The motel is right on the water at Cape Fear just across from Oak Island and its lighthouse. We had a street-side room, so we didn’t have our own patio and swing, but there was a central patio and 2 swings for anyone who wanted to use them. To the left of the motel is the Cape Fear restaurant, a little park (no playground stuff), and a long pier for fishing. The restaurant is wonderfully rustic, but a bit pricey. To the right of the motel is a historic pilot tower and a little public beach. The beach has soft sand, but a few feet into the water there are millions of shells you'll be stepping on, mostly oyster. My 4 and 7 year-olds loved the little beach. They didn't seem to mind the shells much under their feet and loved collecting them. There was a walkway in front of the motel and all along the road there were historic plaques explaining the Civil War related history of the area, including a couple giant rusty anchors. Keep walking along the cape and you’ll come across fresh seafood places and another restaurant called Fishy Fishy, which I highly recommend. The town is lost in history as there are lots of little shops and no touristy places. Walmart and Kerr Drug is only a few miles away if you need stuff. My only grudge with the motel was no Wi-Fi. I couldn’t get any 3G network in the area either, so any internet was a snail’s pace.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauritzen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife & I thorougly enjoyed the port city of Southport, and staying on the Cape Fear riverfront, which is where Lois Jane's 'Riverview Motel' is located. This accomodation did not include breakfast like the main house across the street offers, so I cannot really evaluate the actual 'bed & breakfast'. I would rate the motel as average.....nothing bad, nothing really to jump up and down about. Upon check-in, there was no real warm & fuzzy greeting like you would initially expect, nor was there any orientation to room location, nearby points of interest or where the ice machine was. Southport is a wonderful port town, and highly recommend a visit to this charming, historic town. The ferry ride to nearby Ft. Fisher and other beaches is quite a value....in our case $10 round trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyTravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

There is so much history in the main house. I could have sat there all day reading the old books available in the main room! We met some really neat folks from different places (Alaska, of all things!). The staff is very accomodating, we were asked what we would like for breakfast & the entire morning feast was freshly cooked. It was so good & it was such a nice treat!

Room Tip: We stayed in Skip's Suite. The bed was very comfy! Nice balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieLover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
24.2 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lois Jane's Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lois Jane's Riverview Inn

Property: Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Address: 106 W Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn, in the heart of Southport, NC, has the comfort, convenience and historic charm of a beautifully restored 19th century home. With views of the Cape Fear River, cozy rooms filled with period furniture and the wafting scents of a hearty, full southern breakfast, guests will feel as if they have come home. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing