We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lois Jane's Riverview Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I wanted to do something a little different this year for our anniversary so we looked online and found the Riverview Motel. We were just hoping for a relaxing weekend with some beautiful scenery. We found it at the Riverview Motel. The motel is older but they have refurbished the rooms well and it was clean. The staff was great and made our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayby0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    28
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
90
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

If your intent is to stay in a B&B, DO NOT select the "Waterfront" or "Streetside" rooms on their website's reservations page! Those rooms are actually in the Riverside Motel across the street. They charge B&B prices for these rooms but what you get is equivalent to a Super 8 or Motel 6. In other words, you end up paying about $100 or more for a $35 room. To add injury to insult, the establishment's dumpsters are kept next to the motel and trash pick up was at 7:00 am. No room in the motel is safe from the racket that results.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmb1599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Most memorable birthday celebration ever. Beautiful suite, accomodating innkeepers, INCREDIBLE breakfasts, friendly folks, great conversations, relaxing atmosphere, romantic environment, thoroughly enjoyable. We cannot wait to go back and visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScenicRout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband and I spent three lovely nights at this gracious Charleston-style Inn--southern hospitality at its finest! Beautiful location, comfortable furnishings, and a lively young innkeeper whose breakfasts are to die for--as in fresh fruit, gorgeous french toast, rosemary potato pancakes, egg biscuits with spinach and hollandaise, bottomless coffee and other accompaniments too numerous to mention. Pleasant conversation with other guests went along with evening wine and cheese get togethers. Morning muffins with coffee were available early on the landing. Even in the middle of winter, it was comfortable enough to sit on the porch and look out at the river, stroll under the live oaks, and smell the salt air. A ferry ride to Bald Head Island completed the pleasure. Good restaurants within a short walk. Great place, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ted_mary_blanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were made to feel welcome right from the start, and enjoyed the 5:00 o'clock wine and cheese. Room 3 was spotlessly clean, well-equipped and had a good-sized bathroom. Breakfast was especially good - in fact, it was the best breakfast we had in any of the B & B's we stayed in on our trip - thanks Jeremy. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

My wife and I spent our first vacation together in 2007 at her parent's condo in St. James Plantation - I fell in love with the town and knew she was 'the one' on that trip. So it was fitting that two years later we opted to have a destination wedding at the Southport Community Building with 60 of our closest friends and family on June 20, 2009. My wife's family opted for a block of condos in St. James, my family got a few beach houses in Oak Island. My wife and I however wanted to stay in town for once. Prior to booking, I checked out Brunswick Inn which was a very beautiful home, but had the sense reflected by some other reviewers that the innkeepers might not appreciate newleyweds and friends in the house. While Lois Jane wasn't as elegant as Brunswick Inn, her charm and location on the corner of Bay & Howe St. was absolutely perfect. We chose Miss Mary's room (#3) for our June 18-25 stay, which along with being the largest room with the largest bathroom afforded us the private entrance to the wraparound porch where we'd sit till the wee hours of the morning sipping wine and thinking about the days ahead. Jeremy and Joanie (the innkeepers) were very hospitable, the rooms and inn were always nice & clean, breakfast and 5pm wine was great, and the location can't be beat overlooking the Cape Fear and only a block away from Provision Co. & the Community Building. Friends and our minister stayed across the street at the Riverside Motel - and all positive reviews on that venue as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

We just arrived home from the Lois Jane Inn. It's a beautiful, well-maintained home near the inlet. I thinks it's at least 100 years old. The rooms are clean, well-decorated and a nice size. Room number three is the largest with the nicest bathroom. Breakfast was served in the formal dining room with blueberry pancakes, eggs, grits and bacon. You can walk to the inlet or the marina. Southport is a small laid back town - not a lot of activities. This would be a great place for a slow weekend with little distractions.

  • Liked — Beatiful, clean, very old home
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JenniferPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lois Jane's Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lois Jane's Riverview Inn

Property: Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Address: 106 W Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn, in the heart of Southport, NC, has the comfort, convenience and historic charm of a beautifully restored 19th century home. With views of the Cape Fear River, cozy rooms filled with period furniture and the wafting scents of a hearty, full southern breakfast, guests will feel as if they have come home. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing