We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A southport gem!”

The Provision Company
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A southport gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are traveling to the Carolina coast to enjoy the southern way of doing things, you can't miss The Provision Company. The southern fare is delicious and there is no better view. While this place gets super busy during the summer, the crowd seems to disappear as you sit on the water and reflect on how lucky you are to enjoy such a beautiful place. We prefer to frequent this place in the offseason simply because there is no wait and we can get in and out to go get our errands done. This is a definite stop when in southport!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bksmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    248
    91
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value with a VIEW!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great lunch place with a small menu listing of good seafood. (Broiled shrimp w/ crabcake $7.95?) Order at the kitchen station and sit on large porch by the Southport Docks watching boats and birds go by. Can't beat the view. Covered area but open to the weather (has pull down clear shades in bad weather).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtnay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprise!! It is excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were told by 2 different people in the area that if we went to Southport, we should eat at Provisions. So, we looked it up on Trip Advisor (my travel bible!) and headed out to find it. Even when you are "there" you don't realize it, because the place looks like anything but an eating establishment, and even the sign on the building is not helpful. But we are so glad we stopped in! You go in the front screen door, order at the counter from the blackboard menu, choose your drink from the cooler, and find a seat outside (there is no indoor) where they bring your meal to you, calling your name. I had the Flounder Salad Sandwich (yummy!!!) and hubby had the Crabcake Sandwich...also delicious. The beer was cold, the service good, and the atmosphere what you would expect. The view is lovely. Definitely worth the search!!! Check it out if you are ever in the area, for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Funky, Beachy Atmosphere - Great Food at a Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Provision Company is just plain cute inside. The food, as well as the service are great too. They have a lunch special of crab cake & boiled shrimp that is delicious & is at a super price. Arrive by car or boat - you can dock right in front! We love this place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SuumerGirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nv, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food in Southport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate at Provisions today. 3 of us had the crab cake special w ff for $5.95 – everyone thought it was the best crab cakes of the trip. My wife tried the grouper salad plate w tomatoes & crackers – Beautiful!!! We didn’t know what grouper salad was B4 we tried it, but think of chicken salad with wonderful fresh grouper and you got it. We highly recommend Provisions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Birders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Provision Company also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Provision Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing