We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Atmosphere”

The Provision Company
Ranked #4 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Haw River, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The food was reasonably priced and tasty but it was made better by the coastal atmosphere and wonderful views of the water. My two year old loved watching the boats come in to dock right beside our table.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaCapsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    275
    96
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere, fun times”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Provision Co. is what it is and its not what it's not. The food is always great and we go at least once every time we go to the beach.

Other reviews describe the ordering and delivery process, so I won't repeat. For sure, it is not for everyone or for every mood or occasion. I appreciate them for what they are.

The staff is VERY friendly and accommodating even when they are slammed. Once you get a table and can place your order, it comes very quickly.

If you like the setup, you'll have a great time. If you are looking for tablecloths and a wine steward, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Q7K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Overly hyped tourist trap”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The menu is overpriced, you shout your order over the bar and then you sit down and about twenty minutes later they shout your order and throw the food down on the plastic table in front of you. You'll likely ask I paid how much for this? And this is what I get? How long did I wait in the heat to sit here and eat this? Highly overrated. Poor service, mislabeled food, nothing is truly local or fresh. The owners are nasty people as well. Don't go here unless you like overpaying for bad food, like their grouper salad, which has as much grouper in it as a can of albacore tuna.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJones44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Price cannot be beat for on-the-water dining”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

For about $16 for two people including drinks and fries. The burger and chicken were wonderful, and hit the spot while watching the sun go down over the water. I've heard great things about the shrimp too. Definitely worth a try, and i will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DH16FD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well, it's on the water”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Order cafeteria style off a chalkboard - better know what you want (soup nazi) get your own drink, find your own table. Raise your hand to get your food. Very limited menu, no kids menu. Food is average. Unremarkable for the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keywestclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Provision Company also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Provision Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing