We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine experience”
Review of Live Oak Cafe

Live Oak Cafe
Ranked #15 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: For current menu and wine list information, please visit our website
Southport, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
225 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A fine experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Good food, fine wine and atmosphere. Excellent service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    36
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worst dinner I have ever had”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Went to the wine tasting last night with husband and another couple. Up sick all night long. Food was horrible. Had greasy pork belly for appy. No crisp at all on the skin, just sat it grease. Will not return. Put an automatic tip on our bill of about 20% and the service was terrible.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbethnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soutport, NC
2 reviews
“Fantastic flavors and great service”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Called for a last minute table, this small unique spot was fantastic. Well defined menu for mature palette. No kid typical kid friendly items, there was a pasta dish, but it was really creamy and rich for our youth. Did not ask for plainer item, probably could without any issues. Danielle was our waitress and she did a fantastic job. Creole Shrimp and Grits was fantastic.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCnewbies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“When can we go back?”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

No salt or pepper on the table - never needed! Fresh herbs and spices used while cooking, much of them grown on the premises. Freshest of seafood, homemade breads and situated in a historic house downtown Southport.
The manager strolls through, conversing with the diners, and gives excellent meal suggestions.
My husband is a huge steak fan and Live Oak is THE top of the list for beef. I suggest the flounder stuffed with crabmeat and topped with the lobster sauce.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank packed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint Setting”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Live Oak is an intiment Victorian House. Food is well above average with eclectic offerings. Service is great and they poor a mean cocktail.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Live Oak Cafe also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Live Oak Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing