We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Bad Service”
Review of Blue Marlin Restaurant - CLOSED

Blue Marlin Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: NEW STARTING THIS SUNDAY, LUNCH BUFFET!!!!! 11 - PM The Blue Marlin of Southport, NC is a huge restaurant with plenty of space. We specialize in large parties and family dinning and we are also proud to announce we have a full bar! Our menu varies to include fish, (Mahi, Tuna, Salmon, Grouper, Flounder) Lobster tail, Crab legs, shrimp and More! Starting July 24th we will also have All you can eat Shrimp on Thursdays! Come Join us today! Kids eat FREE on Sundays!(With purchase of qualifying adult meal) Ladies Night Fridays (ladies drink free with purchase of meals)
Oak Island, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Bad Service”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went there for dinner with my wife and son. Was seated by the hostess and after sitting there for 10 minutes without a waitress coming to our table, we got up and left. They were not busy at the time and we watched the wait staff standing around talking and laughing. Poor, poor service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlueMarlin, Owner at Blue Marlin Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I would first like to extend my apologies to you. I was immediately told about the situation and have terminated the waitress that was working that day. I hope that you would give us a second chance and bring your family back in for an evening here at The Blue Marlin. Thank you, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    14
    12
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lunch at the Blue Marlin”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Blue Marlin, but won't be our last. The interior is warm and inviting, and we were seated right away. Our waitress Tiffany was extremely nice. The food was very well prepared, and tasted great! When my husband asked if something could be substituted on another visit, they were very accommodating. This should be a stop for anyone in the Southport/Oak Island area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
1 review
“Restaurant review”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went to dinner to check out the restaurant since they are under new ownership. We had a wonderful meal (all 4 of us) There was hardly any wait time from being seated until we left. Plus they had decent prices. We will be recommending everyone to try it, from locals to vacationers.We extremely enjoyed it. Plus our server Crystal was very attentive to all our needs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and friends visited the blue marlin this evening and had a wonderful experience our server jacky was one of the best servers I have incountered in a long time she took the time to talk to us about our stay here and gave us helpful advise on places to check out while we are here and was very sweet and attentive. The food came out in a timely fashion and was excellent I ordered shrimp and scallops they were cooked to perfection and my friends highly enjoyed their food aswell. Btw love the atmosphere. Ty blue marlin and jacky for the hospitality we will see you next year. I recomend this restaurant to all

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meetandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to eat”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just had an outstanding lunch. The service could not have been any better and the food was hot and very tasty. The Waite time for what we ordered was not bad. I recommend this to any local or tourist who is looking for fast seating and great food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin Restaurant also viewed

Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing