We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bell-Clemmons House
Ranked #4 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend for a night before we went over to Bald Head Island and we're so glad we did! We're already trying to figure out a time to go back!! From the homemade food, to the gorgeous home and the awesome innkeepers this place is the best!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I just booked Coco's Room for the second time for Southport's Spring Festival. My husband and I booked this room last year (2013) and loved it, and I realized after booking today that I had never written a review--and the proprietors deserve it. My lone disclaimer is this was our first true bed and breakfast experience. However, the bar has been set pretty high. We loved everything about it. So here goes from my notes.

All the guest rooms are on the second floor, and all were full on our visit, but there was no issue with noise (unless others were bothered by ours). Fresh, delicious, homemade cookies awaited us in our room, which was spotless, bright, and airy. Bed was very comfy.

All guests have access to a small upstairs lounge (with nice selection of reading materials) as well as a veranda or covered porch (plenty of tables and chairs to accommodate all guests). The lounge was well-stocked with a selection of wine, beer, water, sodas, pastries, and fruit. All gratis. Fresh pastries and coffee were available in the small lounge every morning, so guests could pop out and pick something up while continuing to get ready for the scheduled breakfast, which was sumptuous and delicious. We met some nice people, and obviously would stay here again--as we intend to in April this year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This B&B is by far the best we've stayed in. Been here twice and plan to come back many times in coming years. Chris and Joy (owners) have restored and decorated the house and rooms with comfortable elegance. They make you feel very welcome in their home, and provide little extras (fully stocked fridge, wine and cheese in the evening) that make it a special place. Michael (innkeeper) cooks delicious gourmet breakfasts in the morning and is always accomodating. All in all a great place! Almost didn't want to post this because we didn't want too many folks to know about our hidden gem!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was a business trip for my husband and me; we were craftsmen vendors at the NC July 4th Celebration. The B-C House is within walking distance from Franklin Square, downtown and waterfront restaurants. From the porch on our 2nd story room, we could
see the parade make up. The House was warm, cozy, and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room and bathroom were large, comfortable, and well appointed. Our breakfasts were sumptuous and were accommodated around anyone's diets or food allergies. The early coffee bar on the second floor, just steps from our bedroom door, had both regular and decaf coffees, fresh baked scones and home made jams. In the afternoon, the same area has wine, beers, juices, sodas and home made snacks. Usually, breakfasts were served at 8am, but since the other bedrooms' patrons also were vendors at the Craft show, our Innkeepers served breakfast early, to accommodate our schedules. Our Innkeeper is a Renaissance Man; an exceptional chef, baker, meat curer, and works a full time shift outside the House, too. Socialization with the other quests was stimulated by the large table where we ate breakfasts. I want to come back a day early next year to enjoy the ambience more.

Room Tip: Our bedroom and the lounge both open on to a veranda, a perfect place to enjoy coffee, and scone and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodcrafters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Mine & my husband's first bed and breakfast experience. It was wonderful! We stayed in the Parson's room. The house was so clean and cozy. Comfortable and clean beds, clean bathrooms, a nice balcony area to sit around and relax. Plenty of drinks always available. I loved 5:00 snack hour with wine, cheese, cookies, crackers, etc. Breakfast was delicious and very fulfilling! The innkeepers were extremely nice and welcoming. There are a couple of bikes there you can use. We rode bikes around Southport for an hour, seeing tons of sights we would have otherwise not have seen. Short walk to great restaurants including The Frying Pan, Fishy Fishy, and more. I recommend this very nice, affordable B&B to anyone! I can't wait to go back! :)

Room Tip: Parsons Tip was wonderful, but really any room would there would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kbmetts14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for five nights and did not want to leave. Joy the inn keeper is great and cooks a three course breakfast that is fantastic. The house is very nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Fridge is stock with water, soda's, beer, and wine. Will go back as soon as possible

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank currie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
9.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell-Clemmons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell-Clemmons House

Property: Bell-Clemmons House
Address: 313 E Moore St, Southport, NC 28461-3929
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing