We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Treasure”
Review of Eric's Grille

Eric's Grille
Ranked #31 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
SOUTHPORT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Treasure”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The first time you come, Eric will get your name. The second time you come in, he will most likely address you by that name. Its burgers, eggs, bacon and taters. The food is great and priced right. If you don't like it a little bit greasy, this is not your place. :) Every town has a few places that make up the local character. Eric and his grill are absolute local treasure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sobaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“The best burgers in this area!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Being a Carolina girl, I grew up with a certain type of burger... and Eric's burger with mustard, chili, and slaw fits the bill! Of course, you can get your burger any way you like. The breakfast sandwiches are excellent as are the hotdogs. The service can't be beat... always with a greeting and a smile. It's casual and rather small so you may have to wait for a booth or a seat at the counter but it's worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cattailcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious cheeseburgers and hot dogs!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I love, love, love Eric's Grille. It closes super early, (on Saturdays, he closes at around 12:30), but it's worth the trip. My husband and kids go together more often than I do, but I really like the cheeseburgers and the chicken sandwiches. Also, I adore Eric, he greets regulars by name and appreciates newbies, even though he tries to act like a grouch. He regularly has special gifts for kids (Easter, antique car show time, etc.) and makes a special Mouse-ear pancake for kids for breakfast.

5th Grade Daughter's opinion: "My thoughts on the days you should go would not be Monday's. Usually they're just getting rid of the stuff from Fridays/Saturdays. The best days to go would be probably Wednesday and Thursday (middle of the week when there's fresh items.) Also Eric is really nice to everyone and gives the kids toys on the car show day. It's a really good restaurant and you should consider going if you're in Southport."

I highly recommend my favorite, which is a cheeseburger with slaw, mustard, and ketchup. Fries are usually good, but not always. I've never tried the chili cheese fries, but really want to because they look delicious. My youngest daughter loves the hot dog with ketchup and I've tried a bite. This is a great hot dog; grilled to perfection! The burgers really are the star, though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garciacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fast and tasty breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've been going to Eric's Grille for a few years while on vacation and have loved it every time. They have limited hours (usually 6am-2pm) and only serve breakfast and lunch foods; the clientele is mostly locals. Every item I've tried from their menu has been quickly and tastily prepared and the quality has been consistent each time. The price is pretty low; you can get a lot of food for one person for around $5.00-$7.00. The only con (and it isn't much of a con for me) is that there are no "healthy" options. This is delicious, greasy southern food at its best. My favorite breakfast items are the sausage, egg and cheese on toast with home fries and coffee; my favorite lunch is their double bacon cheeseburger and crinkle-cut fries. Everything's good, though!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank themirandarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eric's Grille also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Eric's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing