We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Over The Top"”
Review of Frying Pan

Frying Pan
Ranked #10 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the historic Old Yacht Basin, the Frying Pan features fresh, local favorites from grilled and pan-seared seafood to perfectly fried specialties. Combined with savory homemade sweet potato biscuits and desserts by our own Ms. Dot, the Frying Pan offers unique combinations to suit any palateand fill the soul. Come by and get a taste of the low country served with a side of southern hospitality.   
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Over The Top"”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am a local,. Therefore, I know the best places to eat. After reading some of the reviews I became disturbed because some people obviously don't eat out much. Paul and Marie built the Frying Pan at the customers demand. Unlike their other restaurant across the street one is able to order fried food. I understand on any given day, at "any" restaurant, things can be different. You can not honestly say "Anything" negative about the food here because it IS...over the top. Me, my family, my families friends from all over the US and my friends have probably ordered everything on the menu. Never once did anyone ever have a bad meal. Never once have we ever had to wait too long. Never once have we ever had poor service. I have eaten fried shrimp all over the States and the Bahamas and have never had it prepared so well. You barely know there is a batter, for it is so light. The Coconut shrimp is like no others. I promise you....that have never dined here....if anything is not according to your taste or liking...all you have to do is ask for Craig, Marie or Paul. They had rather GIVE you your meal...than for you to leave unhappy. They expect the best from their wait staff, their cooks and will not tolerate unprofessionalism. When you leave...you will definitely join me in saying...now that was...Over The Top.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Bolinda1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    108
    73
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I took my family of six there tonight and everything was perfect. My wife and I have four children ages 8, 6, 4, and almost 2. It was great for them too. All of our meals came out fast and the food was perfect. I had shrimp, my wife fish, my kids had chicken strips and fish nuggets. We all loved our food.

They brought out hush puppies to the table to start and they were like cornbread balls. They were great!

Our server was perfect too. Friendly, quick, and kept all of our needs taken care of the whole time.

There was a wait of about 30 minutes but you can wait on a deck overlooking the water so it went by quickly.

The restaurant has open walls so the air blows in and creates a really comfortable experience. The dress is casual but some people were dressed up and others were very casual. Everyone fits in.

We can't say enough good about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what you would expect.....”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We love Southport area mainly because of the way visitors are treated like family. The frying pan is no exception. Wonderful waterfront, laid back environment with good fried foods. I read reviews saying the food was nothing to brag about.......its fried fish! I've never had fried fish that just blew me away. The
Frying Pan is just as good as anyone else but with a view and friendly staff.
Would I go back again. Ofcourse!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank k5ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
“Great Food!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our meal was perfect, 2 meals for 1 price, we order grilled seafood and it was delicious. It was the first time that I had sweet potato biscuits and I loved them. The server was friendly and super fast, we will go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelenaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, over serviced”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The atmosphere was great. Right on the water, nice breeze, very clean. The food was wonderful. I could make a meal just of the hushpuppies. We all ordered something different, and just kind of picked. Everything was great. I did not like the baskets. I guess I just feel like I'm too old to eat out of plastic baskets. The service was great. Actually, it was a bit too much. People literally running everywhere, constantly at the table. I felt very rushed. For me, dining out is about the whole experience, not just the food. I think the staff needs to stop running, have a little more fun, and not make me feel rushed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachfamily2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frying Pan also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Frying Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing