We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay....”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay....”
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were friendly and helpful every step of the check in process. I checked in on my birthday. The next morning I found a birthday card at my door!

The room was big, clean and very well laid out. I think this may go down as the best road hotel I've ever stayed in. I highly recommend this place for anyone visiting the Southport area.

  • Liked — The Staff!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank retired_uscg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    69
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
85
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The staff was excellent and very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was also very nice with plenty of cold and hot options, including make-your-own waffles. The hotel was much more than I expected and I was pleasantly surprised. If you're doing some sight-seeing in the area, be sure to ask the staff for help. When I asked, staff quickly presented me a package that contained guides, maps and even coupons.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The pool is a bit small but it's still a pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ml59917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2007

The Comfort Suites in Southport,NC, is one of the best hotels, that we have ever stayed at. We recommend it highly,the staff was courteous, and helpful. The suites were spacious, and kept spotless. . We had a wide choice of food for the "free" continental breakfast. All in all,it's a hotel that we are planning on visiting again.

  • Liked — The courteous service & the cleaniness>
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamamiaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2005

We stayed at the Comfort Suites at Southport earlier this month and found it to be a very nice, comfortable and clean place to stay. It is convenient to a shopping center with two food stores and restaurants, plus it is just a few miles from Southport with its restaurants. Their breakfast, while nothing to rave about, is better than the average Continental breakfast in most motels. Our room also has a mini-fridge large enough to hold several sodas. All in all, a nice place to stay if you are in the area.

Helpful?
3 Thank fgaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 2, 2003

We booked a room at the Southport Comfort Suites Inn two weeks prior to our arrival. We were guaranteed a late arrival (until 7 A.M. the next morning, in fact, which I thought was really great!). We arrived @ 8 P.M. the night of our booking.They gave us a smoking room. Immediately when I entered the room I called the desk and explained that they had made a mistake because we had requested a non-smoking room when booking the reservation. She said that we were late arriving and all of the non-smoking rooms had been given away with the exception of the one with the jacussi and the cost was greater.Please explain to me what kind of guarantee this is. If they aren't guaranteeing the same as what I booked then their guarantee is no good to me.We chose to go down the road to the Hampton Inn because they had a non-smoking room available at the same basic price we would have had to pay for the smoking room at the Comfort Suites. We will not book with the Comfort Suites again. I called the number to wage a complaint and received a disinterested party and later a disinterested letter explaining only that since we were late the management had the right to give our room away.Again I ask. What guarantee?

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsindt, Regional Director at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2008
We apologize for the experience that the guest encountered. We purchased the property two years ago and have made strides in improving our guest service and the product. We hope that the guest will give us another chance and experience our hospitality.

Thank you,
Terry Sindt
Guests Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
525 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
10.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 4963 Southport Supply Rd SE, Southport, NC 28461-8742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This casual, all-suite hotel is 4 miles from the Oak Island Golf Club, and 5 miles from both the Bald Head Island Ferry and the Oak Island Pier. Airy suites come with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, plus microwaves, minifridges, and coffeemakers. Complimentary parking and hot breakfast are provided. Other amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, an exercise room and a business center. Pets are allowed for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Southport
Comfort Suites Southport
Southport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing