We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel was a great place. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and everything was filled up. We had a clean room every day and the maid service did a great job. Very pleased with our stay. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    62
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
71
81
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

After a mixup on my part booking a room for our first anniversary trip the night attendent was able to get us a room for less than the normal rate for the first night. We stayed the entire weekend, and could not have been happier. The room was clean, and even though our view was the back of the hotel it did not bother us a bit. It was quiet the weekend we were there but the staff was excellent and very friendly. The continental breakfast could use a few more options but for the most part we are definately planning on coming back only this time with our family! Thanks to the Comfort Suites for getting us out of a bind and making our trip so much more enjoyable!

Room Tip: If you do not have kids traveling with you and would like a quiet area the third floor is the quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flygirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This Comfort Suites allows pets. There was a dog barking in the room next to us, possibly because the owner left it alone in the room. The hotel attendant was quick to call the owners to advise them so they could keep it quiet for all guests. This was done prior to my husband advising the front desk attendant. It was quiet after 9pm. Some of the guests were bringing their dogs into the breakfast area, but hotel personnel quickly responded to these guests to remove the dog from the area. The room was clean, good size, comfortable and we enjoyed the light breakfast. The hotel personnel were very friendly. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveldiva24078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We've been coming to the Southport area for years to pick up young family members to bring home for visits. We travel most of the day and then stay overnight, and then do the same thing two weeks later. We used to stay in Wilmington a lot on these trips because we could save a few bucks. However, similarly priced lodging in Wilmington is so inferior to the Comfort Suites in Southport that we now try to stay there whenever we can. I belong to the Military Officer's Association, and the hotel usually offers a military rate that is hard to beat. The rooms are clean, good sized, and comfortable. The staff has always been cheerful and friendly. The breakfast fare our last visit was pretty decent... eggs, sausage, pastry, cereal, fruit, etc. Our next stay is already booked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at Comfort Suites prior to this trip, but this one in Southport was quite disappointing. The room big, but filthy; the carpet could undergo some steam cleaning, and overall, the room was kind of tired.
The location is okay, depends on what is your destination point.

Continental breakfast was alright, but their coffee was a joke, some unknown brown substance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
While it is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel, we welcome all feedback as it can be used to better train our team and maintain our property’s favorable condition.

We have high standards for cleanliness and preventative maintenance of our guest rooms and the public areas of the hotel. Unfortunately, we seemed to have really missed the mark with your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Our staff and management take all guest feedback very seriously and we will be reviewing our room inspection procedures to ensure that future guests do not encounter these types of concerns.

We have also shared your feedback regarding the coffee with our Breakfast staff and with our coffee vendor, so they can check the equipment to ensure that it is brewing correctly to ensure a great cup of coffee. We know how important that first cup of coffee is in the morning…and we want it to be a great one for our guests.

Most of our guests love our location, as we are just 3 ½ miles to Downtown Southport – which has great local shops and fantastic waterfront dining. We are also just a short drive to the beaches at Oak Island.

Again, we truly appreciate your honest feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place is Nothing Special been here going on three weeks, The Bath room was Filthy,The Carpet looked like someone Changed There Oil. I Notified the front desk immediately the front desk had it cleaned the next day.

It's a Suite with one Chair small fridge,microwave, Bed, 20" tv, desk. and thats basically it.

Haven't Seen any Bed Bugs Yet.

Room Tip: Have a Look Before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avalable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
All guest concerns and feedback are taken very seriously by our employees and management staff at the hotel. We do our best to correct a guest’s concerns as soon as they are brought to our attention, in order to ensure guest satisfaction. Offering to move a guest to another room is always our first attempt to ensure that the guest is satisfied with their accommodations. However, we understood during your stay that offering to move you to another guest room was not a convenient option for you. So, as you mentioned we had our staff come in to re-clean the carpet for you. We are so sorry that we were not aware of your dissatisfaction with the bathroom, or we would have also offered to deep clean the bathroom again for you as well.

Most guests really love our oversized rooms with all of the comforts of home including a coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, desk and free wireless internet access. Just to clarify your comment about the television – all of our guest rooms feature 32” inch flat screen televisions. Some of our room types do also include a sofabed in the room, which is great for relaxing or for extra guests - particularly children. Guests are welcome to ask about the features of each type of guest room when they call to book reservations. Room type features are also listed online on our website.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again on your next visit to Southport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I found this hotel comfortable and quiet. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The breakfast attendant was very kind. I have food allergies and she checked packaging to make sure I was not eating anything that would make me ill. This hotel is not near the ocean but several beaches and towns can easily be reached from this place. The housekeeping and maintenance staff were also very friendly and kind. My experience here was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eosmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 4963 Southport Supply Rd SE, Southport, NC 28461-8742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This casual, all-suite hotel is 4 miles from the Oak Island Golf Club, and 5 miles from both the Bald Head Island Ferry and the Oak Island Pier. Airy suites come with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, plus microwaves, minifridges, and coffeemakers. Complimentary parking and hot breakfast are provided. Other amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, an exercise room and a business center. Pets are allowed for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Southport
Comfort Suites Southport
Southport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing