We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat.”
Review of Ports of Call

Ports of Call
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Downtown at 116 N Howe St. Southport, NC 28461 Two blocks from the water.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wonderful menu. Warm and inviting atmoshpere. The owners are friendly and pay attention to the details.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim-RichArc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much for all your support. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 384 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We usually dine at one of the waterfront restaurants but since it was a bit chilly we decided to eat inside and ended up at Ports of Call and are very glad we did! For drinks I had a raspberry bellini and my husband had a pear martini. both were generous pours and very tasty. It was hard to decide between the regular menu items and the special Octoberfest offerings but we stuck with the main menu. My husband ordered the Moroccan Paella which was awesome..slightly spicy, perfectly seasoned, perfect amount of shrimp, sausage and clams as well as chicken. I ordered the pork tenderloin stuffed with cheese and spinach....OMG! It was perfectly cooked and slightly smokey flavored. It was served with sweet potato souffle and white corn then topped with maple glaze. Definately one of the best meals I've had in a restaurant. My only disappointment was the salad...it was just baby greens with balsamic vinaigrette...could have used a few additional ingredients. The warm bread with rosemary was delicious and the service was perfect. Can't wait to visit again...maybe tonight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karensueof82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for dining with us. We may not have a waterfront view but we try and make up for it in other ways. We hope you can visit with us again the next time you are in Southport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lunch was fantastic. I had the "Fish Sandwich Du Jour" and the fish was not only extremely fresh but was cooked perfectly. It was served with a wonderful cucumber salad. My daughter had the "Salad with Spinach, Feta, Bacon, Tomato, Cucumber, Toasted Pecans, and a warm tomato vinaigrette" and loved it. This is my new favorite Southport restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jumagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal during your visit. Check out our daily specials on Facebook as we try and post them as often as we can. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Visited here with 2 girlfriends this weekend for birthdays. Two of us had the wonderful ribs. Some of the best. Great service. The overall atmosphere was plain and our table a bit in dark but otherwise just wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MiaSouthernPines_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We are glad you chose POC to have your birthday meals an enjoyed them. We welcome your advice on how we can improve our plain atmosphere. We apologize for the low lighting. The lights are on a dimmer switch and we could have adjusted them for you had you notified us during your visit. Thank you again for dropping by and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Southport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had reservations for 12 and hostess lied to us that we could not put another table together with the other one(s), so some of had to sit separately from the group. Food was delicious but portion size was small.

Thank nc_sunny_bluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymund A, Owner at Ports of Call, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

As per you review, you noted that you visited us back in Oct 2011. I apologize if we were not able to seat your party all together. As you will note at that time, our dining room was composed of 2 round tables that seat 6, 6 tables that seat 2, and 4 tables that seat 4. You did not note on your review if you had a reservation or not. If you did have a reservation, we would have moved the tables together, provided that these tables were not already reserved for that seating. If your group was a walk in on a busy seating, we may not have enough tables close enough together to be joined. Our house policy is we try and accomodate everyone as long as we do not intrude on our customers' dining experience. Again, we apologize for this incident and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Call also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ports of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing