We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yumm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. P's Bistro

Mr. P's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A longtime Southport institution, one of the top dining spots in town. Low Country-leaning menu. Good wine list
Brielle, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yumm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Was a little out of our price range but soooo good. we decided to just go in for appetizers and a couple of glasses of wine. We could not even finish our appetizers....very big portions. The crab dip was amazing. Oysters were out of this world and the shrimp and grits to die for...yes grits. My first time with grits and I am a huge fan. I definitely recommend coming here if you can swing it. Well worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tinalee725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    90
    28
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a charming small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We ate at Mr. P's Bistro after my daughter's wedding because it was in walking distance of our B&B, and am so glad that we chose it. Our dinners were delicious as were our appetizers of Fried Green Tomatoes, Crab Dip, and the cocktails also were very good. Even though the restaurant was packed, the service was excellent. It is not inexpensive, but in-line and well worth it; be sure to eat there if you are in Southport, a small town at the mouth of the Cape Fear River and on the Intercoastal Waterway. If you are over on Carolina Beach or Kure Beach, you can take the relaxing 35 minute ride on the Southport/Fort Fisher Ferry across the Cape Fear River to Southport; the ferry ticket is currently $5 per car, but may increase this year.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Great food , clams, soft shell crabs and pecan pie. Great service. Wonderful little place in quant southport. Nc.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannahswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth the extra money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We just ate dinner art Mr. P's. The service was stellar and the food was perfect. prime rib and crab cakes are excellent. The home made key lime pie is great. We had a table of 6 plus a 3 year old and everyone was extremely pleased with their meal. Staff was very professional and attentative.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jtuck0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in Southport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Had a wonderful dinner both times we ate at Mr. P's. Will return again. Seafood was wonderful.
Had reservations and got seated immediately...Service was A+....
Go -- you won't be dissapointed...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattbethnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. P's Bistro also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Mr. P's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing