We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner in Southport”
Review of Mr. P's Bistro

Mr. P's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A longtime Southport institution, one of the top dining spots in town. Low Country-leaning menu. Good wine list
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in Southport”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Had a wonderful dinner both times we ate at Mr. P's. Will return again. Seafood was wonderful.
Had reservations and got seated immediately...Service was A+....
Go -- you won't be dissapointed...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattbethnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    98
    30
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Dining at Mr. P's Bistro was a fabulous experience. Really enjoyed the cosmo.....but the salmon with fresh crab and lite hollandaise was the bomb! Veggies were so fresh and crisp.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Proseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great meal at Mr P's”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

During our stay in Southport we had a great meal at Mr P's Bistro. It was a Saturday night and the place was packed but this was a reflection of how good it is. We had to wait 15 mins and they were true to their word. Our server was friendly and efficient and the menu was very extensive. Seafood is a speciality and I tried the Gumbo which was plentiful and tasty. I would definitely give it a try if you are anywhere near this delightful seaside town

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Southport's best!”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Wonderful food and service! Special dishes always a treat and wine dinners super.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kind of a Clubhouse atmosphere”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Based on a one night impression, this maybe the oldest kind of dressy restaurant in town. They serve standard low country fare with fish specials and they were willing to grill or broil instead of frying. Our wait person seemed to be the bartender, so as the restaurant filled up, she was busier elsewhere, but staff picked up and made sure we had water and checked on us. I had fried green tomatoes, not really in season yet, but they could have been breaded fried anything because the breading was thick and a little over fried. We both had flounder, the market fish. The fish was excellently prepared, and the portions were large. Steve had a combo-fish and shrimp and it was a full fish fillet and 10 shrimp. I had flounder with fries and a substitute salad. The salad was large and very fresh. Fish was great, the sides just were not creative. The decor is local fish house, clean but out of the 1950's. Maybe that is what you are looking for at the beach. It was ok for the price, but not a dining adventure or a specially memorable meal. On the other hand, maybe that is a good thing with fish and seafood.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Madjac355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. P's Bistro also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Mr. P's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing