We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed July 13, 2010

What a wonderful hotel! Friendly and helpful staff, mod and immaculate rooms, handy business center, great breakfast bar and workout equipment! We so enjoyed our stay. Cleaning staff worked around our schedule so that our room was tip-top. A new and fresh hotel-lucky us! This town is quaint. easy and an awesome golf destination,too. We'd come back in a heartbeat. History,beach, seafood and sailing all available at Cape Fear area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lean3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

I cannot say enough positive things about the property, the staff, and the owner. My circumstances were a little different than usual. At the end of our vacation my sister became very ill and was hospitalized. Forth of July weekend is very busy for this area, but the owner of this property went above and beyond to help my family and i find comfort, and get a good nights rest. The room was very clean and most certainly comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was also very satisfying. I have visited Southport, NC many times over the past 20 years, and have always had a wonderful time. But this visit was very special. I truely received a lesson in southern hospitiality. God bless you Baiju, my new friend in Southport, NC. Sincerely Angela Varney Logan, WV

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angieLogan_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel and the rooms were still clean and fresh. This is rare for the area.
Hopefully they will keep up the good work/management.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank listentothisadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We recently visited Southport for a nice weekend getaway from the crowded beaches of Myrtle Beach. This small town was a nice surprise. This hotel was excellent. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful in helping us with directions as well as giving us some eating out tips. The hot breakfast was a nice surprise. I would recommend staying at this hotel to everyone looking for a nice clean hotel to stay in the Southport area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinsonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I'd recommend this hotel for anyone traveling for business or pleasure. The hotel is fairly new and is clean, comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is close to the center of Southport and is easy to locate.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 630roadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I have been staying at The WIngate by Wyndham 4-5 nights a week since January. The facilty is beautiful and the rooms are very clean. The staff and management go above and beyond the call to make sure everything is like you like it. The business center is well equipped and the exercise equipment is always in good working order and clean. Located in the heart of Southport, The Wingate is close to everything including Progress Energy. If you are planning a trip to Southport you have to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justwendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

From the minute we walked into the lobby we were treated professionally and with utmost caring. We did not have a reservation, and once we let the front desk clerk know we were active duty miitary we were offered the military rate. The room was basically brand new, flat screen TV, fantastic bed and very clean. The manager was fantastic and was very personable. Breakfast is included and was very good and the presentation and buffet area was very clean. Our only suggestion would be to change to a more ecological disposable plates for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colbob98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
564 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: $81 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing