We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveler rating
435
320
182
89
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
435
320
182
89
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskroom was cleanwafflesstaff was friendlyplenty of parkingking bedbusiness tripvery nice hotelthe breakfast areacontinental breakfastbald head islandolgacrystalwalgreensncoakaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed three nights over Labor Day weekend. I was able to check in early and had a choice of floors (guest rooms are on 2nd-4th floors). I chose the second floor.

The room was spacious, located in the back of the property, with a king bed and bathroom. The room is very well equipped with a fridge, microwave, Keurig style coffee maker, large flat screen TV and safe. There was a desk, chair, armchair and additional chair in the room. The bed had a very firm mattress which I prefer and extremely plump pillows that were frankly too plump to use so I didn't.

The bathroom was clean but the water pressure in the shower was low. I'm sure it was deliberate. The fixtures in the bathroom appear pretty new and are kept in good condition. e.g. no hairline cracks in the toilet, sink or bathtub.

The only major letdown of this hotel was the breakfast. The quality is more like a motel breakfast. You can make your own waffles and there is a vending machine that dispenses batter. There's bread, prepackaged muffins, English muffins, and a toasting machine. There's a vending machine for juices and another for coffee and hot water. There's plenty of teabags to choose from. There's also apples, oranges, single serving breakfast cereals, small cartons of milk, yoghurts. The only hot items are grits, and scrambled eggs and on one day sausage (links and patties) or bacon (two alternate days). The bacon rashers are so thin that when you pick them up with tongs, they crumble to pieces. The breakfast is nothing special and much like what I've had at a Motel 6 or Hampton Inn. i.e. lower quality for this kind of hotel.

The noise level at night is not too bad. The room was located at the back so there wasn't noise from the parking lot but the fridge is a little noisy (but aren't they always?). We didn't run the air conditioning at night so I can't say if that would cause problems during the night.

Location is good except it's hard to find when first arriving there. Look for the Kerr Drug sign! Also, if you want to turn left out of the hotel onto North Howe Street, come out at the traffic light otherwise you'd be stuck forever before being able to turn left. The hotel is about 7 minutes from the waterfront of Southport.

The hotel is in a somewhat interesting location of sharing a parking lot with a strip mall containing a bar/pub and some kind of clinician or medical practitioner. That might explain the relatively large parking lot outside the hotel.

There is a swimming pool but it is outdoor and I can't imagine having used that during the stay as it was so hot and sunny during the afternoons.

The staff are friendly enough and polite. I would stay here again but maybe at a rate that doesn't include breakfast (if this is possible).

Room Tip: I would select the back as it's away from the parking lot (and there's no parking at the back of the hotel). The top floor, the fourth, would probably be the quietest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC_Expat_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to see that your stay was good. We have also taken into consideration the breakfast cincerns and will review this matter during our next meeting. Thank you again for your post.


With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place, I have never had such helpful employees when traveling . We only stayed one night but it was one of the best, service , room and breakfast. The Wyndham was a no smoking hotel so that was a plus. When arriving I didn't have reservation and still got a great room. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment in regards to your stay with us. We are glad to hear that your stay went very well. Thank you again for giving us this feedback.


With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my first visit to Southport with my sister. We found the Wingate hotel to far exceed our initial expectations. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in directing us to excellent dining opportunities as well as local shops to visit. The room was clean and spacious with two queen beds and a seating area as well. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Over all, the hotel was very well kept. One of the best offerings at the Wingate was the expanded continental breakfast. You had plenty of items to choose from that ranged from cooked oatmeal (not the instant kind), eggs, bacon, bagels, waffles along with the expected Danish and cold cereal. The location of the hotel was an easy short drive (less than 3 miles) to the main historic part of Southport and to the Oak Island beach as well. We are looking forward to another visit to Southport and plan to stay longer the next time. We also plan to stay at the Wingate again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take a moment to just say thank you. We have printed out your recent post and have shared it with the staff. We thank you for sharing your vacation with us, and look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews