We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Jed12321
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The property seemed relatively new and well kept up. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accomodating. Our room had the right balance of open space, especially the bathroom.

Like most "better" hotels this one offered a "complimentary" breakfast which we did not avail ourselves of, preferring Port City Java on Howe Street.

We would certainly recommend this hotel at the rate we paid ($129).

Room Tip: We were on the main floor and heard little in the way of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

DEAR GUEST,

Thank you for you post. Our staff works hard to make sure the hotel remains looking like new, even at 4 years of age. We thank you on behalf of the staff for your kind remarks. Again thank you for your comments.


WITH REGARDS,

WINGATE BY WYNDHAM
SOUTHPORT , NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First the good. The motel and rooms were clean and check in wasn't a problem and they did let us stay for only two nights over Memorial weekend. Pool was clean, hot tub a little too hot but clean. Now the bad.

The electrical power went out Saturday and the man the sent to check out the problem didn't seem too knowledgeable about electricity at all (the next day he was trimming the plants outside). They said they didn't have another room and couldn't find us one, but they wouldn't charge us for the room. So instead of calling an electrician on the weekend we stayed in a totally dark room without power. They finally gave a flashlight after the desk person could get away from the desk because they had to call the police about something. I couldn't tell if the fire alarms would have even worked without room power which was a little concerning. Needless to say one vacation day was blown.

Breakfast was powered or carton eggs with no flavor and the standard other stuff. One morning there was sausage that was ok, but the next day the bacon was the cheapest, thinnest bacon I have ever seen. The only way to get it in your mouth was with fingers because otherwise it would just break into pieces. My wife (who likes her bacon well done), even she said it had the least flavor of anything she had eaten.

The cups for breakfast and coffee was the tiniest styrofoam cups you get get and didn't have any lids. Good luck carrying a cup of coffee or hot chocolate to your room or car without get burned.

The next day housekeeping had to bang on everyone doors because they ran out of the "Do not disturb" signs for the doors. We were up, because without power we went to sleep early, but I heard several people answering the door after being awoke. There was a printing place 500 from the motel that could have made signs I'm sure, but also if they just gave people a red post-it and told them to stick it on their door if they didn't want to be disturbed it would have worked. My "takeaway" is that either no one cared, or it was cheaper to wake everyone up and get them out early.

Pillows were way too hard and large for me, but I know that's personal opinion, but I bet they were made to last.

It seemed kind of pricy for a motel in a strip mall and with these kind of problems.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your hotel experience with us. The guests feedback is always a necessary tool to enable us to provide better service to our guests. I am personally disappointed that your stay did not amount to all that it could have been. I have gone over all of the mentioned areas of concern and investigated the issues. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its' staff for your stay. I understand that on Saturday the power to your room went out, and that maintenance was sent to the room for inspection. Unfortunately their findings were not a simple fix to get the power back and after several attempts they went to contact an electrician. Normally we would offer guests an upgrade at no cost or locate outside accommodations. With it being a very busy holiday weekend our hotel as well as the others in our area were sold out so we were unable to do this. The only other options were for the hotel to offer the room (as is), and complimentary ; or, for the guests to check out with out charges. The guests chose to stay. We do understand that this was not an ideal stay and again we apologize for this matter. We would also like to thank you for the positive comments stated about the hotels cleanliness , hot-tub cleanliness as well as the non- minimum nights stay over a holiday weekend. Our staff cares a great deal for our guests and the quality of their stay. As for all other issues while they did not reach your standards they meet all the requirements of the brand. We are, however, currently looking into alternate products. In regards to the fire alarm concerns I can assure you that all of our fire alarms will work with or without power. Please accept our deepest apologies. Again , I would like to thank your for sending us your comments and concerns.

With Regards,

Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 24 hours and checked out.
1-Hottub was dangerously way too hot-probably over 110 degrees.
2-Pillows were very uncomfortable-gave me a crick in my neck.
3-Breakfast was disgusting-water eggs -bacon bits for bacon.stale bagel and stale english muffin,
yogurt was warm, OJ was warm and too thick.
4-Olga the desk clerk did not want to hear what I had to say, the other girl who was their at night was very nice.
5-room was ok-nothing to write home about-stay @ the Hampton much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulli355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

First, we would like to say thank you for supplying us with the concerns you faced during your stay with us. We do apologizes that your stay was not up to the desired guests expectations. We have gone over the areas of concern; all of them, and have started corrective measures for each. While we are following brand guide lines for food products as well as bedding we are looking into some alternatives as well. Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in the future when corrections have been completed.


With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my first trip to Southport and I selected the Wingate by Wyndham after reading the reviews on this site. Everything positive I read was true, and so much more! The mananger, Baiju, is absolutely delightful. She selected the location for the hotel (just 1.5 miles from the waterfront) personally and oversaw the construction. She really rolled out the red carpet and literally gave us a tour of the town in her car. When we selected a restaurant for dinner, she took us in and introduced us to the chef! Although she no doubt has many responsibilities, when she was helping us it was as if she existed exclusively to make our stay as absolutely enjoyable as possible. Her knowledge of the people and places of the area is encyclopedic, and was really helpful. I really couldn't say enough nice things about her, and the rest of the staff at the Wingate, including Robin at the front desk who was always there with a smile, a greeting, and ready to help in any way. I'll also mention that the breakfast buffet is very extensive with a wide variety of both hot and cold choices. This was a real time- and money-saver and much appreciated! We're returning to Southport several more times this year and there is no doubt that Baiju and her staff at the Wingate have made their hotel our perfect home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

To begin , we would like to say thank you on behalf of the Hotel and its staff for your wonderful compliments . We strive to make all of our guests as happy and comfortable as possible, after all that is hospitality. To receive such accolades is always great to hear. We greatly appreciate all forms of input , from every arena , so that we may continue to grow as our guests needs grow too. Again , thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.


With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
564 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: $81 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing