We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Do I Begin !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where Do I Begin !”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 24 hours and checked out.
1-Hottub was dangerously way too hot-probably over 110 degrees.
2-Pillows were very uncomfortable-gave me a crick in my neck.
3-Breakfast was disgusting-water eggs -bacon bits for bacon.stale bagel and stale english muffin,
yogurt was warm, OJ was warm and too thick.
4-Olga the desk clerk did not want to hear what I had to say, the other girl who was their at night was very nice.
5-room was ok-nothing to write home about-stay @ the Hampton much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulli355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to say thank you for supplying us with the concerns you faced during your stay with us. We do apologizes that your stay was not up to the desired guests expectations. We have gone over the areas of concern; all of them, and have started corrective measures for each. While we are following brand guide lines for food products as well as bedding we are looking into some alternatives as well. Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in the future when corrections have been completed.


With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    297
    161
    80
    45
See reviews for
323
281
68
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my first trip to Southport and I selected the Wingate by Wyndham after reading the reviews on this site. Everything positive I read was true, and so much more! The mananger, Baiju, is absolutely delightful. She selected the location for the hotel (just 1.5 miles from the waterfront) personally and oversaw the construction. She really rolled out the red carpet and literally gave us a tour of the town in her car. When we selected a restaurant for dinner, she took us in and introduced us to the chef! Although she no doubt has many responsibilities, when she was helping us it was as if she existed exclusively to make our stay as absolutely enjoyable as possible. Her knowledge of the people and places of the area is encyclopedic, and was really helpful. I really couldn't say enough nice things about her, and the rest of the staff at the Wingate, including Robin at the front desk who was always there with a smile, a greeting, and ready to help in any way. I'll also mention that the breakfast buffet is very extensive with a wide variety of both hot and cold choices. This was a real time- and money-saver and much appreciated! We're returning to Southport several more times this year and there is no doubt that Baiju and her staff at the Wingate have made their hotel our perfect home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

To begin , we would like to say thank you on behalf of the Hotel and its staff for your wonderful compliments . We strive to make all of our guests as happy and comfortable as possible, after all that is hospitality. To receive such accolades is always great to hear. We greatly appreciate all forms of input , from every arena , so that we may continue to grow as our guests needs grow too. Again , thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.


With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast attendant was very nice. She offered assistance, kept everything in the area clean and continued to make sure all items were replenished.

We slept great because the bed was very comfortable and we loved the pillows. It was a great choice of a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. We were so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for the compliment about our breakfast attendant, she is a great delight and wonderful addition to our team.

With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
525 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
10.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing