We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank AusfamCarine
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Southport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 999 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast attendant was very nice. She offered assistance, kept everything in the area clean and continued to make sure all items were replenished.

We slept great because the bed was very comfortable and we loved the pillows. It was a great choice of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. We were so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for the compliment about our breakfast attendant, she is a great delight and wonderful addition to our team.

With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is the first hotel I have ever seen in a shopping plaza. It was definitely the anchor bldg with the little stores and office on either side, but the location was so odd, I felt like I was staying at Walmart.
Though it was clean, and somewhat new, it was very average. More like a Holiday Inn Express than a Wyndham. There is a small outdoor pool, and a tiny workout room. Breakfast was awful: packaged muffins, hard bagels, watery eggs, and very very sloppy. We were there 3 nights for a wedding, and it never changed from day to day.
Staff was nice but not extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Though the rooms on the back side overlook buildings with rusty roofs, they are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromroyalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sending us a review of your recent stay. While we are up to all the Wyndham Brand standards we do apologize that we seem to have, in your eyes, fallen short of what you have come to expect of us. We have gone over the mentioned issues of breakfast and are in the process of corrections. Please feel free to visit again and let us know how we have improved. Thank you again for your feedback.

With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Thank goodness we don't have to stay in hotels anymore, because this place is horrible. If you don't mind a room that wasn't clean (and had NOT been cleaned at all) then you're in luck. The prices were reasonable, but I guess if you don't have to pay for housekeeping then you can afford to have lower rates. The Owner/Operator could have cared less about our issues. I will say that they front desk staff was very friendly, the breakfast was excellent, and the eating area very clean. Would NOT recommend to family or friends.

Room Tip: Inspect your room BEFORE accepting it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to send us information regarding our property. We were disappointed to say the least after reading your comments. We assure you that this is not typical of our housekeeping staff and have taken measures to correct the lack of communication that allowed for a guest room to fall through the cracks as it had in this case. The staff has gone through extensive re-training in effort to prevent these kind of issues. We would also like to thank you for bringing this to our attention and for the good compliments about our front office staff. Again , we offer our sincerest apologies and thank you for your assistance.

With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank PLynnHighPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mitchell M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
541 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
9.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: $87 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing