We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“July 4th week”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Chose Wingate by Wyndham Southport on-line for convenience to location we needed to be, but found we could not have chosen better for other reasons like service and comforts. Staff were always welcoming and not too preoccupied with their duties to be considerate of our interests. Owners were present and often seen with their customers, passing on ideas for local interests and ensuring comforts of a place to come back to after a day away were the least of concerns. Music in the background all day, a tidy lobby and pleasing complimentary breakfast were also added joys to complete a memorable experience. Thanks to Baiju!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    297
    161
    80
    45
See reviews for
323
281
68
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay, which exceeded our expectations with kind and helpful service from everyone of the staff we encountered. The rooms were clean, the bed like a cloud, and the staff extremely trustworthy and helpful. Even the music was gentle and uplifting! We came away having enjoyed the town, making new friends, and wanting to return. A special thanks to and for Baiju, the GM.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Chose this hotel because of the good location and was not disappointed.From the moment we walked in we were greeted with a warm welcome,the front desk staff were always helpful.
The room was spacious,clean and tidy and quiet,beds very comfortable.
The complimentary breakfast was a good quality and never ran out even when we were late down.
Overall would recommend and will certainly make this our number one choice for returning to this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently enjoyed a 3 day/night stay at Wingate Hotel in Southport NC over the 4th July Holiday.
I was surprised at how nice the continental breakfast was--most places I've been it's nothing much ---but the Southport Wingate had eggs, bacon , sausage, Smuckers jelly (not cheap stuff!) great coffee, bagels, juice, yogurt, the works! People could even make their own waffles!

The Manager, Baiju Vadgama, did an incredible job welcoming her guests-- I saw her several times during my stay..she greated people at breakfast, did room checks with her housekeeping staff--asking if anything was needed! She obviously enjoys her work, that hotel is her baby!

The rooms were clean and comfortable! I really liked the Wolfgang Puck coffee in the rooms! And we loved the peaceful music playing all through the hotel!I didn't get to use the gym or pool while I was there, but they looked great! Maybe next time! The business suite with computers, printers, phone was handy also.

I highly recommend staying at the Baiju Vadgama's Southport Wingate Hotel! I hope I get a chance to come back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannaberelichunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is our 3rd time staying at this hotel. We really enjoy the perfect location with Oak Island and South Port being just minutes away. The front desk staff and the manager do a great job interacting with the guests. I appreciated the manager walking around checking on guests at breakfast. The breakfast is a good quality complimentary meal. The rooms are very clean and spacious. I enjoyed having a frig in the room. Bathrooms are nice. My only complaint is the poor quality of the towels. The pool is also very nice. We will be back in a matter of weeks! The hotel is great quality with a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UhVoAo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was satisfied with our stay overall. The beds and bathrooms we're clean. We enjoyed the pool but the jets in the hot tub did not work.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tellmehowureallyfeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

While my stay was brief, the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was clean and modern. Best of all the night was very restful and quite. Breakfast was served on time and hot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
525 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
10.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing