We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest in Southern hospitality!”
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The Inn itself is beautiful--remodeled Victorian era charm, very close to the water and you can walk to just about anywhere in town. The innkeeper, David, is an amazing host. Great chef, great conversationalist, he will make you feel right at home. The Robert Ruark Inn is a little piece of Heaven!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 285 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay in the Robert Ruark room. The inn is very clean and well kept and looks just like the pictures on their website. Breakfast was wonderful (especially the bacon). David was a very gracious host. We would definitely recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDBCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Robert Ruark Inn after getting married in neighboring Oak Island. Although we didn't arrive until later in the evening, David was waiting for us to give us a brief tour and explain the amenities. After spending one of the most amazing and romantic evenings in Virginia's Room, we indulged in the 8-jet shower and then it was off to breakfast. And breakfast was one of the best we have ever had! I neglected to ask David if he is a professionally-trained chef, but my suspicion is that he is. I had spinach and portabello mushroom quiche and my husband ate shrimp and grits, we shared some secret recipe, sweet and spiced baked bacon along with fresh fruit. I cannot say enough wonderful things about David's cooking! And I also cannot neglect to mention Liezle's (sorry for the spelling!) homemade fig jam, absolutely delicious. As you can tell, we enjoyed the food, but that is not all the Robert Ruark has to offer. The period furnishings are beautiful and the amenities are out of this world - a lovely and tasteful juxtaposition of old and new. Our solitary regret is that we were only able to spend one night! We will definitely be back. David, you are an amazing host, please keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Traveled to Southport on business. Dave, the Innkeeper, treated us like royalty! An expert chef, Dave kept us well fed. Apple-Pear coffee cake, homemade fudge, eggs benedict, blueberry ricotta pancakes, spinach/portabella quiche, cheese grits souffle, delicious sugared bacon and fresh sausage. In the evening, wine and cheese including Dave's special cheese spreads. The inn was clean and cozy, elegant and yet simple. A beautiful home with a wonderful host!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The Robert Ruark Inn was absolutely divine. From the casual and friendly demeanor of the inn keeper David to the beautiful rooms and the scrumptous meals we were served, it was above and beyond all expectations. This B&B truly understands the meaning of personalizing their service: from allowing us to only stay 1 night, when there is a 2 night minimum to personally preparing each of our breakfasts according to our preferences.

Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway. Enjoy! We sure did!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursenellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Great place. Quaint, clean, interesting. But the best part of the Ruark experience is David, the innkeeper. His enthusiasm for the inn is infectious. You can't help but have a good time. And he's a terrific chef.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UConnEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Outstanding B&B

We spent a night (8/31) at Robert Ruark Inn. Our innkeeper, David Gale was most hospitable and extremely accomodating. Food was suberb- wine and homemade appetizers upon arrival. The best shrimp and grits for breakfast that I've ever eaten- along with homemade biscuits and country ham, wonderful breakfast meats- and a "doggie bag" of homemade coffee cake to go...

Beautiful property- and immaculate! Very convenient walking location to downtown Southport. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
289 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $140 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing