We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a three night stay at this super clean and friendly bed and breakfast. The home was comfortable, with a wonderful front porch with rockers. I enjoyed utilizing the bikes to ride to the river or explore town each morning before breakfast. Breakfast was served very elegantly in the dining room and was delicious. Our hosts were very helpful and showed us the town by golf cart one morning and car the next! We really appreciated their hospitality. Everything was provided for a very easy and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vacati0nbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn! We enjoyed meeting you both very much and sharing our knowledge of Southport! We love sharing this special historic and coastal City as well as the Robert Ruark Inn with guests.

We hope to see you again one day! Please stay in touch.
All our best,
Linda and Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Robert Ruark Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our experience here was amazing! Linda and Rick were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean, very comfortable and full of history. There is a side patio with a fire pit, a parlor with informational books about the area and history of the area. The golf cart tour by Rick, the owner, is a must! It helped us understand the history of the town, helped us map out our stay, and was full of fun stories. The Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located in Historic Southport so everything is within walking distance of amazing restaurants, the waterfront, after hours entertainment and shopping. The breakfasts were amazing. The owners were very accommodating even with my husband's allergies. We cannot wait to return to this hidden treasure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! It was wonderful meeting you both. We enjoyed talking with you both and telling you about Southport and showing you around via the golf cart tour. It is always so nice to see our guests enjoying themselves and relaxing!!! We are happy you had a great time and hope to see you again one day!

All our very, very best with all summertime travels!
Linda and Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our experience at the Robert Ruark Inn was amazing! The breakfast we had each morning alone was worth staying there! We also received an excellent tour from the owner at the beginning of our trip which really helped us map out our visit, as well as provided us with local history and information. My husband and I both were blown away at the cleanliness and the overall atmosphere and will now make this in our go to in Southport!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn! We enjoyed meeting you both and are so happy you had a great time at the Inn and in Southport. We also appreciate your comments about the tour. It helps us to know it is enjoyed and helps introduce everyone to Southport!

All our very, very best. We hope to see you again one day soon!
Rick & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Robert Ruark Inn and loved it! The position is stunning and very calm if you're looking for a relaxing break. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was fabulous. We took advantage of the informative golf cart tour by the owner which really bought the place alive; we couldn't wait to get off at the end and explore. The Inn is very conveniently located so we ate on the front each night and wandered along the stunning waterways after dinner as the sun went down. It was wonderfully romantic. The Inn itself had a delicious breakfast, and snacks if you felt peckish in between meals. There was a fire pit out to the side and a decadent drawing room in which to lounge if needed (equipped with books about the area). After an amazing day trip to Bald Head Island the next day it was a haven to come back too. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn for your trip to the U.S.A. and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. We love offering the tours to our guests, too. It helps us make sure you know all the wonderful things and places to explore in our lovely town of Southport! Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again one day soon!
All our very best,
Rick & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Robert Ruark Inn this weekend for the second time to celebrate my husband's birthday.As on the first visit we loved everything about the inn.We stayed in our favorite room again-The Captain Adkins room and feel like this is our home in Southport.Thank you Rick and Linda for another wonderful weekend and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful TripAdvisor review. It was great seeing you both again. It warms our hearts to have guests come back to the Inn and share their stories with us. We also love hearing that the Robert Ruark Inn is chosen for special occasions and is a key destination for R&R. You two are a special, loving couple. Thank you for sharing your special times with us/the Inn! We feel honored. Have a wonderful summer. Take care!!! Linda & Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beautiful decor, elegant design. First class. Owner Rick is a great guy. Walk all over historic Southport. Waterfront and restaurants close at hand. Highly recommended. Live oak tree lined streets taker you back to a more genteel time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We love to hear that everyone enjoys our Inn and service. It means a lot and tells us we are on the right track! Thanks, too, for your kind comments about Rick. He really appreciated them. As his wife and business partner, I do agree. He's a pretty great guy. It's nice to be owning and running an Inn with someone who loves it as much as I do.

Thank you again for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review.

All my best,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were fortunate to find our favourite place on our 3 week vacation of the east coast in Southampton, we stayed in two rooms both stunning with fireplaces and comfy beds. Perfect location for the town, beach, restaurants and pier we had planned to stay one night before heading to dc but loved it so much we drove back from dc after one night for another stay. Rick and Linda were great hosts and ricks golf cart tour was really fun and informative. Linda's scones and tea at her tea room were fabulous and I lef a bit of my heart in southport. Thanks Linda and Rick we loved your place and town. Linda did the dog get you the right Mother's Day present ???? Ps if you're staying here plan to eat before 830pm it's not a late night town

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous but the ground floor one has a special bathroom that could shower a small arm...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trayciem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Traycie,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you both very much. It meant the world to us that you came back a second time that week!!! You both are so nice. It was great seeing your smiling faces again! Thanks, too, for your comments on the scones. I'm always trying to get them just right.

Yes....Maggie (our dog) bought me the perfect necklace! It has longitude/latitude on it so I'll never get lost whether on land or sea!

We hope to see you both again one day! All our very, very best for a wonderful summer and every future day!

Take care,
Linda & Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $140 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing