We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn in Southport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn in Southport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The inn was absolutely lovely, inside and out. Everything true to the photos on their website. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed visiting with another couple staying there. We shortened our stay due to bad weather. I appreciate Linda being understanding about that! I had hopes to enjoy their adorable outdoor eating areas and our small balcony, but nature and the rain had other ideas. Charming town, it was our first visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We appreciate you choosing the Robert Ruark Inn for your visit to the NC Coast. The day you were here was the worst rainfall I've ever experienced anywhere on the East Coast. We have been spoiled from Southport's "picture perfect" weather most of the year.

Hopefully you can return and enjoy the entire outdoor property (bricked courtyard, front and side rocking porches, bicycles and gardens) as well as lovely Southport. We have so many restaurants, waterfront areas and shops within a very short walking distance as well. And....your night's sleep will be much better wthout the sound of pounding rain.

Thanks again for taking the time to send a review. We hope to see you again.
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
171
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The owners are so friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast - fresh fruit, home-made waffles, quiche, sausages, and excellent yogurt. The wonderful location and outstanding facilities made our stay a real pleasure. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathfox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for the opportunity to meet you. We enjoyed chatting and having you as a guest at the Robert Ruark Inn. We hope you will visit again.
All our best as the fall approaches. Have a great rest of 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rick and Linda made us feel welcome and at home. They went out of their way to show us around Southport. Rick shuttled us to and from the ferry to Bald Head Island in his fun golf cart. The accommodations were very nice with a lot of nice touches such as wine, water and candy. Breakfasts were excellent!!! It was very hot outside and the Inn was cool and comfortable. They provided bicycles to ride around town free of charge which is a very nice touch. They recommended places to eat and things to do around town. We would definitely recommend this beautiful place and will be going back again.

Jim and Deborah- Apex, NC

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you Jim & Deborah for the wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you both and welcoming you to the Robert Ruark Inn. It was our pleasure showing you the sites of Southport via the electric cart, too.

Thanks again for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn and for the review.

We wish you all the best for a great summer 2012!

Rick & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was invited to join friends for breakfast at the Robert Ruark Inn. The Inn is beautiful and rich with history about the author "Robert Ruark". Rick and Linda were so kind and welcomed me along with their other guests. Breakfast was absolutely divine. Thank you Rick and Linda for letting me have the opportunity to enjoy your beautiful Inn and your wonderful breakfast with my close friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We enjoyed meeting everyone very, very much. It was a pleasure having you at breakfast, too. Please stop by again soon!

We appreciate your time and support of the Robert Ruark Inn.
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would highly recommend this B&B. Rick & Linda were very sweet and accommodating! The breakfast every morning was amazing and the bed in our room was so comfy. Kevin and I had a wonderful stay and would definitely love to visit the inn as well as Southport & Bald Head Island again in the future.

Kristy from Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Robert Ruark Inn. It was a pleasure meeting you and Kevin. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in Southport and on Bald Head Island. We are hoping you get a chance to visit here again soon. Thanks again for your review. We appreciate it very much!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Linda and Rick work together to make this a terrific B & B where you feel welcome and very much at home. I have visited many inns in North and South Carolina and Virginia but would say this place is one of the best. The comfortable accomodations with the jetted showers and great rosemary mint shampoo were part of the charm as well as the soft dreamy bed. The breakfasts were varied, delicious and healthy! Anything you need, they are willing to try to accomodate you if they can. The tour of Southport by golf cart was so much fun and Rick is an informative and enthusiastic guide. I felt comfortable, safe and happy. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margiet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
It was so great having you in Southport and at the Robert Ruark Inn. We were so sad to see you go! It was neat talking with you about all your travels!

We appreciate the comments regarding breakfast and the tour, too. Rick loves giving those tours! Southport has so much charm and history. Even when we think we know a lot, we learn a new detail to tell our guests.

Thanks again for staying at the Robert Ruark Inn and giving us the opportunity to make your stay memorable. And.....giving us the opportunity to meet you! Hope we will see you again, soon!

Take care. Thanks again!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is the historical home of the late writer Robert Raurk, beautifully preserved in every detail, If you are looking authentic southern charm and hospitality, Linda and Rick will welcome you into their home for and experience you won't forget. The host and hostess are warm fun loving folks who have been in the area for many years. The kind of Inn keepers who will help you with any request you may have. By far the best place to stay in Southport, NC. hands down!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms #1Robert Raurk room (A+) and also in the #2 Virginia Room (A+) as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BULALY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review on the Robert Ruark Inn. It was so nice meeting you both! We enjoyed talking with you and chatting about North Carolina! You both have so much energy and looked like you were absorbing every minute boating, biking, walking, dining, etc. around Southport. We were sad to see you leave. We will, however, look forward to you staying again and/or you stopping by when you are on your next, nearby family island vacation!

Thanks again for the wonderful comments! You both take care! Have a wonderful July 4!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Property: Robert Ruark Inn
Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing