We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend away in a long time”
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was our first stay in a B&B and it was the best vacation we've ever had. The historic nature of the home and the attention to detail from the innkeepers makes this a very memorable stay. The town of Southport is quaint, idealic, and relaxing. Rick and Linda met us when we arrived and gave us a tour of the town. They were very accomodating to my dietary needs both for breakfast and during the snack times. For a special anniversary gift, there was chilled champagne waiting in our room. The common areas in the house were inviting and relaxing. We used their bikes to go around the time and took them up on many suggestions for dining. If you are looking for a comfortable beautiful place to relax in, you have found the spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in Robert Ruark's room. Handsomely decorated. Large bathroom. A quiet upstairs room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megs6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. We truly enjoyed meeting you both and were so happy you chose the Robert Ruark Inn in which to celebrate your anniversary. We feel so fortunate to live in Southport and own'operate the Inn but we mostly are thankful for all the wonderful people (like you and your husband) that we get to meet.

All our best for a wonderful summer with your family. Please come back and visit us soon!
Again, thanks so much for your terrific review on the Robert Ruark Inn.

All our best,
Linda & Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Robert Ruark Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

My fiance and I could not have asked for a better stay. Linda and Rick were extremely helpful, accommodating and generous the entire time -- sharing local tips to dropping off/picking us up from the Bald Head Island ferry to providing bikes to explore the town.

The house itself is a gem and they do an amazing job maintaining the property! Rooms are spacious, charming and detailed with perfection. The outdoor common area was also a great place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine. And to top it off, Linda's breakfasts were delicious and a perfect start to each day.

Our best B&B experience yet! I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Captain Adkins Room is well worth the splurge!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchew610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We were pleased that you chose our Inn for a special birthday weekend. It was great meeting you both. We wish you all the best with your wedding plans and hope you will have time to visit us again in Southport!

Again, thanks so much for the wonderful review on the Robert Ruark Inn.

All our best, Linda and Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Rick and Linda, owners/hosts of the Robert Ruark Inn, are wonderful! My husband and I just returned from a two night stay celebrating our anniversary. When we first arrived we were greeted warmly by both Linda and Rick. We were given a tour of the beautifully decorated house, then informed to unpack, get settled and we would be given a tour of the town on the golf cart. There was a minor problem with the air conditioner upon arrival, but Rick and Linda both worked quickly to rectify the problem. I, honestly, have never met anyone else in the business of providing customer service to be as accommodating and obliging as Rick and Linda. My husband and I were sad to leave...not only because our trip had come to an end, but also because we felt like we were saying goodbye to family! Thank you Rick and Linda for a memorable trip...warm conversation, clean and quaint accommodations, delicious(!) meals, great recommendations...Thank you for your hospitality and for making our anniversary special!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Capt. Adkins room...very spacious room featuring very comfortable king size bed and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunettesweetness82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRuarkInn, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We truly enjoyed meeting you and your husband and appreciate you choosing the Robert Ruark Inn. We were sad to see you leave as well. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks again for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn.
Take care!!! Have a wonderful summer!
Linda & Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My daughter and her groom had their mini-honeymoon at the Robert Ruark, and I cannot praise them enough for the little extras they did for the newlyweds. We dropped off a basket that they had waiting for them in their room, along with a bottle of champagne of their choosing.. They had asked us earlier if any preferences for drinks, etc, and had stocked their choosen teas, and many other perks were involved. We found them very helpful and responsive to all our needs to make a special occasion end on another special note..

Room Tip: they do not have a FB page that I am aware of. At the time of our visit to Southport, they were tak...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRuarkInn, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your review & comments. My husband and I reopened the Inn March 1 and have heard many nice comments about the previous Innkeepers. It is nice to hear.

We are continuing the Robert Ruark Inn tradition of great service and care and have added a few upgrades. We now have all Aveda bath products in our showers, a six passenger golf cart to provide tours of Southport for our guests (and to take brides & bridesmaids to their weddings), a 24/7 coffee/tea bar, afternoon "Tea & Treats," a few more antique furnishings, new bedding & towels and a few other touches, too!

We are also proud to be part of Southport and meet many of the people who choose it for special occasions, travel, relaxing weekends, retreats, etc.

We greatly appreciate feedback and strive to give our guests a wonderful experience!
Many thanks,
Linda & Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

As a native of this little town, this is the first I have ever needed lodging. I was thoroughly impressed by all aspects of our stay. I played I. This house as a child and found it completely familiar with the stately charm intact. Would highly recommend this to anyone visiting my quaint hometown. I left Southport as a child and always fear coming back and finding it turned into Williamsburg. The Ruark house felt like going back in time. A wonderful experience. We stayed in Charlottes room and it was beautiful . Next rip will be captain Atkins room. Enoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelryjunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRuarkInn, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed meeting you and are so happy you chose the Robert Ruark Inn when you returned to Southport for a visit.

We look forward to seeing you again. Take care. All our very best! Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn and look forward to another visit in the future. Rick and Linda are gracious hosts and couldn't make you feel more welcome. Excellent recommendations to local restaurants and things to do in the area. Rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable, the food was excellent and wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRuarkInn, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

We are so happy you chose the Robert Ruark Inn and that we had a chance to meet you. Your review is very helpful and we appreciate all the nice comments, too.

We hope to see you back in Southport sometime soon. In the interim, we wish you a wonderful summer and rest of 2012.

Take care! All our best, Rick and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just returned from a three week trip to Georgia and the Carolinas and finished our holiday on a real high. The Robert Ruark Inn is a wonderful place. It is well run by relatively new innkeepers Rick and Linda who make every effort to make you as comfortable as possible. We stayed in the Captain Adkins Room which is bright and spacious and has a small balcony which catches the sun from early morning to late afternoon. The hosts prepare an excellent breakfast every morning and if there is something special you crave, they will try to oblige. Try one of the many varieties of French Toast. Linda and Rick have that special combination of making you feel looked after without invading your privacy. We had a truely special time. The seaside town of Southport is a real gem. It is actually on the mouth of the Cape Fear River and is quite protected by barrier islands. Ferries run to Bald Head Island and the other side of the river and there is plenty of eating places and shops to keep you entertained. The big supermarket, gas station etc are well placed out of town so don't spoil the unique flavour of this pretty town. There is history all around and the city of Wilmington is 30 minutes away. The waterfront has swings and benches and it is quite possible to sit there for hours sipping your latte from Port City Java and just watching the boats go by. Absolute heaven!

Room Tip: Go for the Captain Adkins Room - its bright and spacious with good storage and a lovely little balco...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRuarkInn, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and coming to the Robert Ruark Inn. Rick and I were thrilled to have the opportunity to meet you both. We are in awe of all your travels and all the wonderful spots of the world you have visited.

We are definitely looking forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best with other travels and endeavors in 2012 and beyond.

Thanks again! GREAT meeting you.
Linda and Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $140 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing