We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Hostess”
Review of The Brunswick Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brunswick Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The owner was rude and narrow minded. Obviously not customer oriented. Save your money and go to Riverview Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank bentley1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2008

The owner was so rude! She ruined our trip!!! I guess they cater to older people, so she didn't want to 'deal' with us. I'm not sure it was our appearance or younger age, but we were demeaned from the start. The Brunswick Inn is beautiful, but I would NEVER consider staying there ever again; I would NEVER recommend it to anyone else!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Cell1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy49552, Owner at The Brunswick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Again, at the encouragement of guests to respond to a negative review, it is apparent that the review from Disappointed and Rude Hostess were submitted by the couple that stayed on 12/8/08. Unfortunately, we do not remember them or the circumstances but it is upsetting to think that they would find us to be so judgemental. We have 5 children and 8 grandchildren and certainly love to have young, middle aged and older couples stay with us. Sometimes we find that people are not always respectful of other guests staying at the inn or us, as innkeepers. The inn is our personal home and we enjoy opening it up to the public, however, it is sometimes disappointing the lack of respect people have for one another. Again, we apologize and would have liked to have had the couple talk with us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Spent a wonderful fall afternoon sitting on the porch of this beautiful home built in 1859 overlooking the mouth of the Cape Fear River at Southport. Enjoyed the comforts of the home and bedroom that night with a fire in the fireplace. Awoke to a beautiful sunrise over the harbor, and enjoyed a gourmet breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Enjoyed the company of the inkeepers, Jim & Judy. They have restored this old home to perfection. And the view from the second floor balcony is one you will always remember. It was a perfect ending to a trip to NJ to visit family.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davesgolf1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
564 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Inn

Address: 301 E Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3911
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing