We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunsets AndGood Food”
Review of Fishy Fishy Cafe

Fishy Fishy Cafe
Ranked #11 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
157 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunsets AndGood Food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

greatSpotToWatchSunsets. LiveMusicTOo. Good Has Improved And Fresh Fish Specials Are Delicious. MaHi Mahi Was Excellent. OutsideSeating Is Great Spot To Watch Sunsets. Take Advantage Of The Bar Stools By The Docks To Watch The Sun Set Over The ICW. Dock Spaces Available To Visit By Boat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macnmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    419
    218
    93
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
362 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Eat on the intracoastal”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wife and I ate a late lunch at Fishy Fishy’s. They seated us quickly on a little wharf, which was over the water. The décor was bright turquoise and yellow. With some lime green mixed in. The waitress was very pleasant. We ordered the Apple Salad with Scallops ( $15.95 ) and the Fishy’s Basket ( $10.95 ). The salad was very good and adequate in size. The Fishy’s basket was very good but pretty skimpy. One piece of flounder, some home made potato chips, and a tiny container of coleslaw. We got water for our drinks and the bill was $28+Plus tip. The atmosphere was very nice, a cool breeze blowing over the waterway, birds flying freely around the boats parked next door, and boats going up and down the waterway. They were setting up for live music in the evening, which I am sure, would have been very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
497 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Tasty fish - however a bit overcooked”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Fishy Fishy restaurant offers a great water view if you enjoy eating outdoors. It was a pleasant but not humid evening so we did take a table waterside. The fresh catch was parm crusted sea bass and I anxiously waited to eat one of my most favorite seafoods! Unfortunately, the fish was overcooked just a bit...what could have been an outstanding entree was an 'average' entree. All four in our group had the sea bass also and the others rated it as overcooked as well. The vegetables were very tasty and properly cooked 'crisp tender'. Out request to substitute broccoli for the rice was not a problem and much appreciated. Our wait staff was not terribly attentive and after she brought the bill, and we placed credit cards in the folder, it was another 15 minutes before she came back to process the payment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fishy Fish Cafe is okay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed a good lunch of clam chowder and grilled cheese sandwiches while visiting Southport. Prices were fair and the portions were great. The wait staff was nice but not at the top of their game. Enjoyed chatting among themselves. Views of the water were excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelley511972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Play, South Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, good view”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Food and wait staff and view was excellent. Was there at sunset and it was picture perfect. Larger selection for food and beverage than neighboring restaurant. Only negative was rudeness of the 'seating lady'.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishy Fishy Cafe also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing