We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun on the water”
Review of Fishy Fishy Cafe

Fishy Fishy Cafe
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun on the water”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

OK, Southport is a good half-hour away from Wilmington, but the drive is worth it. Fishy Fishy itself is a bit out of the way, but it is a great place for a VERY casual lunch (haven't been there for dinner), especially in the summer. It is right at the marina -- food and service good.

Helpful?
Thank BellaCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    450
    232
    99
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch on Christmas Eve”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Fishy Fishy is very bright and colorful. We all enjoyed looking at the various creative and artistic fish that were mounted on the wall... one was made out of silverware. Our lunches were all delicious and the servers were cheerful and attentive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank marit1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“unexpected flavors in a great light winter supper”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stopped in Southport, NC after catching the NC Ferry. Caught a fantastic light Sunday night supper at Fishy Fishy...great seared ahi tuna pizza with arugula and a phenomenal appetizer of a bowl of mussels in white wine.
We were totally surprised to find such a tasteful supper with a great winter view of coastal NC.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awhitesides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fishy Fishy is such a fun, laid-back restaurant!”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've been to Fishy Fishy quite a few times since moving to Southport. The name just makes me smile. The food has always been consistently good and I've tried many different dishes there. I love their zucchini sticks with spicy ranch dressing, their sweet potato fries and also their grits (which are some of the best I've ever had!). Their tilapia fish tacos with Asian slaw are amazing. I've also had their soups and peel 'n eat shrimp. All great. They're a little on the pricier side with some items, but the quality and quantity are there so I don't mind. It's a fun hangout place and everyone there always seems to be having a good time, plus the servers are friendly and efficient so that makes your visit all the better. They have neat local art hanging on the walls. You can tell there's a good mix of both tourists & locals. It's definitely worth a visit, especially when you're able to sit outside on the deck overlooking the marina. It's a great place to kick back for a beer and fish taco. Enjoy!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank KutzCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Don't let the name fool you”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We paused at the name, since "fishy" may have negative connotations.
Once you're inside, however, everything is fresh and far from "fishy." Service is friendly and personalized, and the food is distinctive. We stuck to seafood and were completely pleased.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BornTooLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishy Fishy Cafe also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing