We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A glorious beach stay in the PERFECT vacation...”
other travelers have booked this property
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Private 8' x 14' Amish-built Pirate Ship. A great playset for the little ones. Private Pool and Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Private 8' x 14' Amish-built Pirate Ship. A great playset for the little ones.
Private Pool and Hot Tub
Sit at the counter or around the large dining table that seats a crowd
Wicker seating area
Living room with new couch, new tile, LCD TV, TIVO, Netflix, Blu-Ray, 600 DVDs, and Onkyo 5.1 Stereo
Fully appointed kitchen - New for 2018: Granite countertops and stainless steel appliances
Golf Privileges at the nearby Kilmarlic Country Club
BR 1-Captain's Quarters, King bed, Jacuzzi, LCD TV, 475 channels, Blu-Ray, DVR, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 2 - Surf Shack, Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 3 - Beachcomber, Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, Blu-Ray, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 4 - Adirondack -
 Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 5 - Crew's Quarters -
 Two bunk bed set, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 6 - Pyramid Room -
 One bunk bed set (twin/full), LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 7 - Garden Room -
 Two twins, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
Discount adventure sports (Hang Gliding Lessons, Wright Flyer) through K-Club
Free Tennis Privileges (2 courts, backboard, and shaded Gazebo)
Game room fridge, microwave, sink, iPhone/iPod compatible stereo
Wall art in the game room
Dog kennel under live oak tree (dog welcome inside house), one mature dog allowed w/ $75 fee
Horizon Ocean Views
Decks face East and South
Volleyball court - Kids love it as their own giant sand box
Marina Privileges
Marina Privileges - great sunsets
Walk to the Ocean
Manicured lawn, palm trees, w/ basketball hoop
Dolphin Inn - Great Getaway
Wall art in entryway
BR 1 - Captain's Quarters Detail
BR 2 - Surf Shack Detail
BR 2 - Surf Shack Detail
BR 3 - Beachcomber Detail
Hallway detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Southern Shores, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joan w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A glorious beach stay in the PERFECT vacation home!”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Dolphin Inn provided the perfect stay for our long-awaited family vacation! It housed 16 adults, children, and babies comfortably. The house was in top condition. The swimming pool, hot tub, and sand volleyball court provided hours of "in house", relaxed entertainment, as did the very short walk to the beach. The pirate ship playground was also a novelty attraction. Our family shared great times in the large, open living/dining/kitchen area. The quaint town of Duck was a short bike or car ride away. We spent one afternoon feasting on oysters at a nearby wine and oyster bar. The local fish shack owner provided us with all the ingredients we needed for a shrimp boil, plus many interesting stories about the history of the Outer Banks. Jorge, the owner of the Inn, could not have been more gracious as he answered questions and provided helpful information to make our stay even more enjoyable. I cannot recommend this spacious and extremely comfortable beach home highly enough. We can't wait to go back!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalisa C...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Dolphin Inn; a Perfect Vacation Home!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

TThe Dolphin Inn was perfect for my family. All accommodations were met. We were surprised to find things in the home such as fist aid kits, spices and condiments, a baby tub and highchair (which was a miracle since my grandson vacationed with the family), gym facility in the neighborhood, and so much more.
The lower level was great for the kids to enjoy their time away with all the noises being isolated, as the adult/master suites were located on the 2 upper levels. They played games and watched movies all night well into the early morning. In addition to the gaming system they brought along, we all utilized the Wii-U system that was provided in the home, along with games for all family members to enjoy. Also, the pool was a splendid amenity. The children stayed in the pool throughout the day. So much time, they were all sunburned.
One of the days there it rained cats and dogs. Luckily, there was a library of movies and books to enjoy. Afterward, we played board games that were provided in the home. The only one that we didn’t see was UNO. So we went to the Walmart and purchased a set of cards which we left behind for the next family to use.
The home was clean and well organized. I couldn’t think of a better place to choose to spend your vacation in OBX, NC.
Last but not least, the owner stayed in constant contact with us during our planning, the month of, the week of, during the week while at the home and when we returned; ensuring we made it home safely. I highly recommend the Dolphin Inn for your rental property. You will not be disappointed.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenetyson
Windsor, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family friendly house!”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved everything about the house, location, decor, view, etc. etc. Very close to all you need: beach, shopping, sight seeing, and restaurants. All the things provided for families with young children was a big plus. And the gourmet kitchen is fully supplies. Lovely pool and outdoor space. Also an air of privacy that is not always there in a beach house. And in addition Jorge and Susannah are the perfect hosts. They are more like family than landlords. We loved our time at Dolphin Inn. It was an unforgettable memory for our family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonegirl2...
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Vacation Spot!”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had family coming from the north and south to vacation in the OBX and this house was the perfect spot! The location was great! There wasn't alot of traffic and we were was close to stores, activities, and restaurants and within walking distance to the beach. The house itself was beautiful, the rooms were spacious, and it was just enough space for us (we had a party of 12). The pool was fantastic, very clean and the perfect size. The hot tub was a destination spot every night! Our family enjoyed every moment spent at the Dolphin Inn and we plan to return in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia V
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation Home”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the opportunity to stay in this lovely home for our first extended family vacation. It was the perfect home for us. First off, it was a pleasure to work with the owner, Jorge H. He was very courteous and attentive to all our needs to ensure we had a pleasant experience. The hone had everything we would need! Beach chairs were provided, umbrellas and a little wagon to haul everything to the beach. The home itself had many amenities!The Volleyball Court was a big hit as well as the pool. We loved to end our day with a movie (endless selection in the library) popcorn. The Dolphin Inn will definitely be the place we will continue to stay at on all our future stays at the OBX.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house, convenient location, awesome amenities!”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I can't recommend the Dolphin Inn highly enough. It is perfectly situated in Southern Shores -- 4 minute walk to the beach, close to the boutiques and restaurants of Duck, and just a 15-20 minute drive to Wright Brothers and the Jockeys Ridge park. The house has everything you could want in a vacation home: tons of space, lots of great kitchen amenities, pool, hot tub, basketball net, and playground. The house had over 500 DVDs, so convenient for rainy days. Plus the beds were the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on at a rental house. The house is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. To top it all off, Jorge and his wife are perfect hosts, offering insider tips and welcoming you. Don't hesitate another minute to snag this great house!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smheaney
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun family vacation”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at the Dolphin Inn OBX for a week. We had such a great time and made so many fun family memories! We lucked out with beautiful weather. There was so much to do in the ares. We went to the beach, lounged in the pool, went on an adventure to see the wild horses of Corolla, went fishing on Avalon Pier, went shopping, had a great brunch at Pamlico Jack’s, had fresh donuts from Duck Donuts, went exploring to Roanoke Island, visited the sand dunes of Jockey’s Ridge State Park... every family member from the youngest to the oldest had something fun to do and we all had a great time! Jorge and Susannah could not have been nicer! They thought of everything and the house provided all the comforts of home. It was clean and beautiful. We are already talking about our next trip back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing