We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Trip”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back of House and Pool Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back of House and Pool
Pool
Great Room
Great Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Deck off Great Room
Powder Room off Kitchen
King Master Bedroom
King Master Bedroom
Master Bath
2nd King Bedroom
2nd King Bedroom
EnSuite Master Bath 2nd King Bedroom
3rd Queen Bedroom
4th Bedroom Queen and Bunk set
Lower Level Full Bath
Back Deck and Grill
Tower Loft
Tower Loft
Hot Tub on Tower Deck
Hot Tub for 6
Game Room
Outdoor Shower
3rd Av Ocean Access path
Ocean Access @ 3rd Ave
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Southern Shores, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Trip”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was wonderful. The only thing that was mentioned by my party was a TV was needed in the bedroom with the bunk beds. Maybe cut down the tree in the middle of the driveway. Other than those two things our trip and stay at Flip Flop Inn was wonderful. We love the house, pool and hot tub. I like the tub with the jets in the master suite. I have restless leg syndrome and that tub helps with that so much that I am thinking of getting one for my house. Needed some relaxation and I got it at Flip Flop Inn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review FLIP FLOP INN. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us next season. George & Eileen,owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen1830
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of room for kids and great pool”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was the best so far of vacation rentals on Nags Head we have used. Lots of room for large family. Traveled with sons and their children..ages, 8, 7, 6, 5 and 3...they loved the pool. It was not too big for them to play safely...I swear they all learned to swim this trip! This house was well equipped with about all you need...and more. It had all the beach equipment you needed, including beach carts to tote everything to the beach which was a short walk from the house. There were lots of videos and games for bad weather days. Everyone agreed when we go again, we will check out this place first to see if it is available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very well equipped
Liked least: Having to drop off the key rather than leaving them in the house when we left
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msaunders...
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All Inclusive and Homey”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The owners are very proud of their property and you can tell! They furnish coffee and fixins for first day to sewing kit to first aid kit and much more; they thought of it all. The floor plan was wonderful with the entry level master bedroom large enough for the "old folks" to escape for a while. A nice computer and printer furnished. TV's in every room, even though we spent most of our time at the pool or beach; the pool was nicely equipped and the chairs and cart for the beach were more than ample. Great house, you will not be disappointed! I plan on booking again next year at same time, hopefully.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The concern for our comfort and enjoyment.
Liked least: The property management company totally screwed up and did the owners a disservice. I hope they don't pay their fee for the month.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F
Forked River, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax, It's All Here”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you have ever woken up in the morning in your vacation house after a long drive down from New Jersey and realized that you brought coffee but not milk, and you have no idea where you'll even find milk nearby, then you know the meaning of existential despair. And you really need to come to the Flip Flop Inn. Open the kitchen cabinet with a speck of hope in your heart, spot the non-dairy creamer, make coffee, go sit by the pool. Anything you need for your vacation is in that house. If you don't think they have it, keep looking. You'll find it. Beach chairs? Check. Hot tub, jacuzzi, linens already on the bed? Check. Video library downstairs, books upstairs. There's a binder in the house that's stuffed with useful information about the house, maps to the beach, menus, etc. The owners call the morning after you've arrived to go over everything with you just to make sure you're comfortable and your questions are answered.

The pictures you see here are what you will see when you get there. The house is large and very nicely decorated. No knotty pine here. There are so many bedrooms that the two of us would have had to change rooms every night to use them all. I didn't look any further than the spacious master suite on the main floor. It has its own sitting area and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. There is a second master bedroom downstairs with a king bed and a private bath, where my twenty-something son stayed, another bedroom with a queen bed and the kids room with bunk beds and still another queen sized bed. If you get tired of sitting by the pool, there's a hot tub on the third floor deck just outside a lovely sitting area.

And the beach. We were there the week before Labor Day, when kids have gone back to school and grownups can go back to the beach. It is a five minute drive to the ocean. When you come off the beach there's an open outdoor shower to wash the sand off your feet. (The whole town has pretty much thought of everything).

Here is the very worst I can say about this house: it took two of us to get the cover off the hot tub. If that is the worst thing you can say about your experience, you have absolutely nothing to complain about. Go. Enjoy. And remember - the sweet and low is in the cabinet, right where you'd put it yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randymrm
Woodstock, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! All you could want and more :)”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

From the first time I talked to the owner on the phone to the day we left the beach this was an amazing experience. The house is in an ideal location, with trees around it making it more secluded than many beach homes. We had 7 in our group of family members and our 3 grandgirlz (ages 11, 9 and 6) loved the new pool as did we all. The home is a short walk to the beach for us grandparents and the grandgirlz as well. Parking permits for Hillcrest which was a very short drive away gave access to a parking lot right on the beach if you prefer not to walk. The beaches were less crowded than farther south on the Outer Banks which made it a real winner for everybody. As far as being equipped the house was outstanding and my wife loved everything in the kitchen. The gas grill was a winner for my son-in-law the grill king and was situated on the deck overlooking the pool which was another plus. The house also had minimal steps inside another plus and we also loved the automatic lights that came on outside when going out in the evening. This aided in security and safety. Items like beach chairs, doodles, a big beach umbrella and a buggy to cart things to the beach came in handy. The added fourth bedroom and pool made this home perfect for our group of 7, but the house is big enough to accommodate a tad bit larger group. The pool and hot tub were big winners and the favorite spots. Pool depth went up to about 5-feet or so, perfect for our grandgirlz and the rest of us for that matter. As for what we liked the least, a few pesky ants, but that's kind of expected from our experiences at the Outer Banks. One issue we had was the downstairs bathroom located with the new bedroom stopped up and we had to call for assistance and it was quickly resolved. Flip Flop Inn is a perfect beach destination for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded area and pool/
Liked least: Wi-fi access came and went while there.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pittsburgh PA
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing