We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay!”
Review of Jefferson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jefferson Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our visit was quaint and magical. Felt like I was in a Nicholas Sparks book! The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and had great southern hospitality and charm. Room was great and very comfortable and clean. Recently renovated. What a magical place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estrellas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed there Sat Aug 24, 2013 and had a great experience. I enjoyed a few drinks at the bars, both inside and out and the bartenders were awesome! It was a great night! The staff was knowledgeable and very friendly. I'll stay there every time I visit the area! Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

There is no other place like this... The team that run the inn are some of the warmest and friendliest people I have met, they will often go beyond expectations to keep you comfortable. I certainly would not consider staying anywhere else when I next visit.

Stay safe guys and thank you

Kevin

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevmacvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Disappointed that we booked via phone and were quoted one price which was charged to our cc at that time, yet when we checked out we were told that we owed money for the room since the front desk agent quoted us wrong. It wouldn't have been as bad if it was brought up at check in instead of after we stayed and were checking out. Most inns/hotels would honor their quote and not charge you more after you already stayed.

Rooms are in great condition and quite large for a historic inn. Location is wonderful. Good service from the bar and owner during a special occasion. Overall good service but the cost of the room situation left a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annon301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis D, Owner at Jefferson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for the recent review of your stay at The Jefferson Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit, and we deeply regret our mistake. As we mentioned when we refunded the $16 overcharge, we had inadvertently charged you for what was intended to be a free upgrade to a deluxe room. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for the error, and will return to The Jefferson Inn for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This inn was comfortable, the staff gracious and extremely attentive. Our room was lovely, spacious yet intimate. The courtyard was the perfect place to unwind with a cool drink at the end of a hectic day. Thank you to all the staff we chatted with during our stay; you made the difference between "great place" and "we will come here again"!! A special thanks to Kelly (hope I have your name right!) for upgrading us!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhiker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The property was very nicely maintained, staff friendly, big clean room, and easy check out. We stayed in the room on the second floor over looking the courtyard though we could hear the music outside it did not bother us and the staff was sure to let us know that live music was played on the weekends so we were well aware. My husband and I enjoyed our stay, it was perfect for an overnight romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a delightful 3 weekend nights in this charming Inn. When we made our reservations and learned about the weekend's nightly party on the patio, we requested a quiet room away from the music, as we retire earlier than the music stopped. When we checked in, we realized that because of two queen beds, this room was smaller than we had expected. The Inn was full that night, but the next day we were very kindly upgraded to a super 2 room suite, at no extra cost, also out of range of the evening's music. We couldn't have been more pleased.

The staff was wonderful and helpful, and eager to share any information about the area, the history of the Inn, and directions to anywhere we wanted to go. The continental breakfast was adequate for our needs, and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud. But I think my favorite were the rocking chairs on the front porch, where I could sit and read and rock to my heart's delight. Probably the only suggestion I might make is to add a handrail in the showers.

We did not eat at the Inn's restaurant, but did have a before-dinner drink at the very pleasant patio bar. Later that Friday evening we discovered how popular that patio is with the younger people. It was wall to wall in there! The town is also delightful, with lots of cute shops and restaurants, and a train that runs down the center of the boulevard.

We would definitely go back to Southern Pines, and the Jefferson Inn next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Sorry, I accidentally clicked on the swimming pool and was unable to erase the rating. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Pines
1.3 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#8 of 12 in Southern Pines
90 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Southern Pines-Pinehurst
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Inn

Address: 150 West New Hampshire Ave., Southern Pines, NC 28387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Southern Pines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Price Range: $136 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jefferson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DON’T JUST VISIT THE SANDHILLS, PINEHURST AND SOUTHERN PINES, EXPERIENCE THEM AT THE JEFFERSON INN...The Jefferson Inn, located just minutes from the Village of Pinehurst, is the Sandhills area’s only boutique hotel. We offer oversized and unique guestrooms and suites, and a popular tavern and outdoor courtyard including live entertainment seasonally. We offer golf packages and host customized mini-tournaments for your group, both including discounted rates and preferred tee-times at most of the area’s finest courses. With fifteen luxury guestrooms and one-bedroom suites ranging in size up to 600 square feet, The Jefferson Inn offers such “comfort features” as cottage style furniture; plantation shutters; custom-made down-filled duvets and pillows; 600 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets; flat screen LCD or plasma TV’s in every room; in-room safes; and free wireless internet service. The generously sized travertine-clad baths feature authentic clawfoot and garden bathtubs, and oversized showers with regular and rain shower heads.The Jefferson Inn was recognized by Conde Nast Johansens in its 2009 Edition of Recommended Hotels, Inns, Resorts and Spas in the Americas, Caribbean, Atlantic and Pacific. This honor is shared by only nine other properties in North Carolina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Jefferson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Hotel Southern Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing