We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Primo!”
Review of Jefferson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jefferson Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Primo!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This inn was comfortable, the staff gracious and extremely attentive. Our room was lovely, spacious yet intimate. The courtyard was the perfect place to unwind with a cool drink at the end of a hectic day. Thank you to all the staff we chatted with during our stay; you made the difference between "great place" and "we will come here again"!! A special thanks to Kelly (hope I have your name right!) for upgrading us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhiker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    23
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
57
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The property was very nicely maintained, staff friendly, big clean room, and easy check out. We stayed in the room on the second floor over looking the courtyard though we could hear the music outside it did not bother us and the staff was sure to let us know that live music was played on the weekends so we were well aware. My husband and I enjoyed our stay, it was perfect for an overnight romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a delightful 3 weekend nights in this charming Inn. When we made our reservations and learned about the weekend's nightly party on the patio, we requested a quiet room away from the music, as we retire earlier than the music stopped. When we checked in, we realized that because of two queen beds, this room was smaller than we had expected. The Inn was full that night, but the next day we were very kindly upgraded to a super 2 room suite, at no extra cost, also out of range of the evening's music. We couldn't have been more pleased.

The staff was wonderful and helpful, and eager to share any information about the area, the history of the Inn, and directions to anywhere we wanted to go. The continental breakfast was adequate for our needs, and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud. But I think my favorite were the rocking chairs on the front porch, where I could sit and read and rock to my heart's delight. Probably the only suggestion I might make is to add a handrail in the showers.

We did not eat at the Inn's restaurant, but did have a before-dinner drink at the very pleasant patio bar. Later that Friday evening we discovered how popular that patio is with the younger people. It was wall to wall in there! The town is also delightful, with lots of cute shops and restaurants, and a train that runs down the center of the boulevard.

We would definitely go back to Southern Pines, and the Jefferson Inn next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Sorry, I accidentally clicked on the swimming pool and was unable to erase the rating. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked the Jefferson Inn for our 35th anniversary, based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed! The Inn is charming, and truly historic as evidenced by the sloping floors! Our suite (Room #1) had a lovely bedroom with large TV, comfortable living/sitting room also with TV, and a beautiful very modern bathroom with two sinks, separate toilet room, walk-in shower with room for two, and an adorable claw-foot tub. The tavern had a casual menu with good food, friendly service, and live music on Sunday evening. There is also a lovely courtyard for dining, but it was not open due to the cold temps when we visited. Breakfast was included with a variety of yogurts, juices, bagels, muffins, and cereals. We didn't have time to experience the shops and dining in Southern Pines, but will definitely try to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBWilmingtonNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unless you need to be in the chic zone that is downtown Pinehurst, laid back Southern Pines and the Jefferson is an excellent choice. The front desk staff (Kelly and Mary Lou) are both a delight, and the rooms (especially the junior suite at room 15) are romantic as can be. I was in room 7, a huge room with an alcove. Can't go wrong at the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoLawyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I write this from the sitting room of the historic Jefferson Inn. The historical ambience is in full bloom this morning, but last night I slept in modern comfort. From the rain shower wake up in a spacious bathroom to the amazing night's sleep in an oh so comfortable bed, this weekend was a real treat! Don't be fooled this is no sleepy village, Southern Pines is a vibrant southern city with much on offer. The Jefferson Inn is right in the thick of it, and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a small boutique, historical hotel. The room was spacious and lovely and with all the modern amenities. The beds were completely cozy. The staff was friendly and very helpful regarding restaruants, shops and directions. We felt right at home with the locals frequenting the bar. AND, the lobster bisque soup was terrific! Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms with double beds appear to be larger and the shower is a large walk-in with two shower hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sile365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Pines
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
80 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Pinehurst Southern Pines
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Inn

Property: Jefferson Inn
Address: 150 West New Hampshire Ave., Southern Pines, NC 28387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Southern Pines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jefferson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DON’T JUST VISIT THE SANDHILLS, PINEHURST AND SOUTHERN PINES, EXPERIENCE THEM AT THE JEFFERSON INN...The Jefferson Inn, located just minutes from the Village of Pinehurst, is the Sandhills area’s only boutique hotel. We offer oversized and unique guestrooms and suites, and a popular tavern and outdoor courtyard including live entertainment seasonally. We offer golf packages and host customized mini-tournaments for your group, both including discounted rates and preferred tee-times at most of the area’s finest courses. With fifteen luxury guestrooms and one-bedroom suites ranging in size up to 600 square feet, The Jefferson Inn offers such “comfort features” as cottage style furniture; plantation shutters; custom-made down-filled duvets and pillows; 600 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets; flat screen LCD or plasma TV’s in every room; in-room safes; and free wireless internet service. The generously sized travertine-clad baths feature authentic clawfoot and garden bathtubs, and oversized showers with regular and rain shower heads.The Jefferson Inn was recognized by Conde Nast Johansens in its 2009 Edition of Recommended Hotels, Inns, Resorts and Spas in the Americas, Caribbean, Atlantic and Pacific. This honor is shared by only nine other properties in North Carolina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jefferson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Hotel Southern Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing