We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great local place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ironwood Cafe

Ironwood Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great local place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This restaurant has excellent food, prepared in many different ways according to the seasons of the year. There is an outside patio as well as ample seating inside. One of my favorite places to eat in my home town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    90
    32
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Bland Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Upon walking thru the door of this restaurant we had high hopes for a great dining experience but were miserably let down. The restaurant is dimly lit and very rustic in appearance. The menu and presentation of the dishes are very inspired, but the service is slow. My wife and I started with a bowl of Lobster Bisque which was very average and bland in taste. The Caesar Salad was another let down with a tasteless dressing and soggy lettuce. Our last hope was the Mad Mac & Cheese which ended up being the worst dish of the night. It tasted like Kraft Mac & Cheese with over cooked shrimp and mushy red pepper.

This place was so bad we will not give it another try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jstaff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had dinner there last night! Chilean Sea Bass is excellent. Great selections on the menu. Ambience is good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cristin1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for a special treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

There may be restaurants with more "sizzle", but I would put them up against the fanciest for the truly delicious food. Not necessarily the "fanciest" dishes, but creative and very tasty. Atmosphere is pleasant and comfortable, but is a bit noisy. Very lovely patio (in season), complete with parrot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ironwood Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent food but the high ceilings make it noisy. Early bird menu daily. Good service. During nice weather, patio dining is available.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironwood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ironwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing